Athletics News
BIG EAST Announces 2009-10 Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Award Winners

"The BIG EAST Conference has announced the 24 winners of the 2009-10 BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Awards, which recognize academic and athletic achievement as well as community service.

The Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Awards are given to one student-athlete in each BIG EAST sport based on academic credentials, athletic accolades or performances and volunteer service to the community. Student-athletes who attained junior academic standing and a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 are eligible. The winners are chosen by the BIG EAST Faculty Athletics Representative Council.

The winners include five student-athletes who were chosen to ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America teams in the 2009-10 season. Connecticut's Maya Moore was the Academic All-America of the Year in women's basketball, while Notre Dame's Tim Abromaitis was an Academic All-America First Team choice in men's basketball. Syracuse women's lacrosse standout Christina Dove joined BIG EAST Volleyball Player of the Year Meagan Dooley of Pittsburgh as Academic All-America First Team picks as well. Louisville field hockey player Heather Bustanoby, the 2009 BIG EAST Goalkeeper of the Year, was an Academic All-America Second Team selection.

This year's winners also include Cincinnati's Josh Schneider, who was the national 50-yard freestyle champion at this year's NCAA Swimming & Diving Championships, and West Virginia's Marie-Louise Asselin, who was the runner-up in the 5,000-meter run at both the NCAA indoor and outdoor track & field championships and is a seven-time all-America finisher.

The list also includes three 2009-10 NCAA Postgraduate Scholars in Dooley, Bustanoby and Connecticut track & field standout Phylicia George.

2009-10 BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete Sport Excellence Award Winners

Sport             Player          School
Baseball    Matt Singer Seton Hall

Men's Basketball

Tim Abromaitis

Notre Dame

Women's Basketball

Maya Moore


Men's Cross Country

Brice Cleland


Women's Cross Country

Sara Leslie


Field Hockey

Heather Bustanoby



Reed Williams

West Virginia

Men's Golf

Ryan Castanet

Seton Hall

Women's Golf

Sara-Maude Juneau


Men's Lacrosse

Brian Karalunas


Women's Lacrosse

Christina Dove


Women's Rowing

Sarah Keithley

Notre Dame

Men's Soccer

Joel Gustafsson

St. John's

Women's Soccer

Amanda Pasciolla

St. John's


Becca Heteniak


Men's Swimming & Diving

Josh Schneider


Women's Swimming & Diving

Elinore de Jong


Men's Tennis

Tyler Davis

Notre Dame

Women's Tennis

Amy Zhang


Men's Indoor Track & Field

Steven Hnat


Women's Indoor Track & Field

Phylicia George


Men's Outdoor Track & Field

Brad Millar


Women's Outdoor Track & Field

Marie-Louise Asselin

West Virginia

Women's Volleyball

Meagan Dooley