USF's Chase Koepka Named BIG EAST Men's Golf Freshman and Player of the Year

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - USF freshman Chase Koepka, who finished second at the BIG EAST championship and led USF to the team title, was named BIG EAST Men's Golf Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year by the league's 12 head coaches.  


Koepka is the first player to be named BIG EAST Men's Golf Player and Freshman of the Year in the same season. This is the second consecutive year a USF player has been named BIG EAST Freshman of the Year. Trey Valentine received in the honor in 2012.


Koepka finished second at the BIG EAST Championship with a score of 209 (70-70-69), which ties for the fifth-best individual result all-time at the conference championship. The freshman was one of two players to shoot under par all three rounds of the championship at Reunion Resort in Orlando, Fla. In 10 tournaments and 27 rounds this season Koepka averaged a score of 72.81, and registered his round-low score of 65 at the Seminole Intercollegiate on March 15-17. The freshman finished in the individual top 20 in six of his 10 tournaments, including three finishes in the top five.


USF coach Chris Malloy was named BIG EAST Men's Golf Coach of the Year for the first time. Malloy led the Bulls to their first BIG EAST title with a score of 858 to finish six under par. In the last two seasons the Bulls have tallied two of their three lowest team score averages in program history. In 2012-13 USF averaged a 294.81 to rank third all-time in Bulls' program history.


Koepka is one of three Bulls to make the 2013 All-BIG EAST team. Sophomore Trey Valentine was a unanimous selection and junior Richard James was also selected. Louisville and St. John's tied USF with three selections each. The 16-member All-BIG EAST team includes seven freshmen and four unanimous selections. All-BIG EAST team members David Tepe of Cincinnati and Robin Sciot-Siegrist of Louisville will compete at NCAA golf regionals May 28-June 2 at Ohio State. USF is the No. 11 seed in the South Regional at Florida State.


All-Big East Team

David Tepe, Sr., Cincinnati

Zach Zaback, Fr., Connecticut

John Pavelko, Sr., DePaul

Gus Lundquist, Fr., Louisville

Robin Sciot-Siegrlist, Fr., Louisville *

Maximilian Walz, Fr., Louisville

Patrick Sanchez, Fr., Marquette

Cory Sciupider, Fr., Notre Dame

Niall Platt, Jr., Notre Dame *

Ryan Gay, Sr., St. John's

Ryan McCormick, Jr., St. John's *

Pat Wilson, Sr., St. John's

Richard James, Jr., USF

Chase Koepka, Fr., USF

Trey Valentine, So., USF *

Michael Kania, Sr., Villanova



Big East Player of the Year

Chase Koepka, Fr., USF


Big East Freshman of the Year

Chase Koepka, Fr., USF


Big East Coach of the Year

Chris Malloy, USF


* unanimous selection