Notre Dame's Scodro Unanimously Chosen As BIG EAST Men's Golf Player of the Year

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - Notre Dame's senior Max Scodro, who led the Irish to their eighth BIG EAST title, has been unanimously chosen by the league's 12 head coaches as the 2012 BIG EAST Men's Golf Player of the Year.
The conference also announced the selection of USF's Trey Valentine as BIG EAST Freshman of the Year and Notre Dame head coach Jim Kubinski as BIG EAST Coach of the Year.
Scodro was named BIG EAST Player of the Year after leading the Irish to their second straight title. This is the second year in a row Scodro has earned the honor after claiming the individual title at the BIG EAST Championship. He registered six top-10 finishes this season while setting Notre Dame records for the lowest single-season stoke average (71.45) while moving into first on the career stroke average list (73.34). Scodro, who is the 48th-rated player nationally by Golfstat, won the individual title at the BIG EAST Championship by one stroke at six under par.
Valentine led the Bulls with five top-10 finishes, six top-25 finishes and a 71.9 stroke average through 24 rounds. He opened his freshman season with three straight top-five finishes in the fall. He registered his top finish of the season at the Seminole Intercollegiate where he tied for third place at seven under par. Valentine has been selected to compete at the NCAA Regionals where he will play at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Ga.
Kubinski led Notre Dame to is second straight BIG EAST title in 2012 and his fourth as head coach of the Irish. This is the second straight year he has been named BIG EAST Coach of the Year. Along with Scodro, three other members of his team were named to the All-BIG EAST Team. Kubinski and the Irish will compete in the NCAA Regionals in Ann Arbor, Mich., May 17-19.
The BIG EAST also announced the 14-player All-BIG EAST team, which includes three unanimous selections from the head coaches. Joining Scodro as unanimous selections are Louisville's Justin Dorward and Michael Kania of Villanova. Georgetown's Brian Dorfman and Taylor Hall, Notre Dame's Paul McNamara, Niall Platt and Chris Walker, St. John's Ryan McCormick and Pat Wilson, Seton Hall's Gary Dunne and Troy Spencer and USF's Branden Collins and Trey Valentine round out the all-conference team.
Player of the Year
Max Scodro, Sr., Notre Dame *
Freshman of the Year
Trey Valentine, Fr., USF *
Coach of the Year
Jim Kubinski, Notre Dame
Brian Dorfman, Sr., Georgetown
Taylor Hall, Sr., Georgetown
Justin Dorward, Sr., Louisville *
Paul McNamara, Jr., Notre Dame
Niall Platt, So., Notre Dame
Max Scodro, Sr., Notre Dame *
Chris Walker, Sr., Notre Dame
Ryan McCormick, So., St. John's
Pat Wilson, Jr., St. John's
Gary Dunne, So., Seton Hall
Troy Spencer, Sr., Seton Hall
Branden Collins, Fr., USF
Trey Valentine, Fr., USF
Michael Kania, Jr., Villanova *
* unanimous selection