Notre Dame Men's Golf Heads to NCAA Regionals

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The Notre Dame men's golf team heads to Ocala, Fla., on Thursday to participate in the NCAA Florida Regional. The regional format is made up of six 54-hole regional tournaments being conducted May 19-21. Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the NCAA Championship. The Fighting Irish earned an automatic berth to the NCAA Regional Championship after winning the 2011 BIG EAST Championship title. It was the seventh title in program history. Notre Dame is the No. 9 seed in the region, with host Florida ranked No. 1. Junior Max Scodro, 2011 BIG EAST Player of the Year, leads a strong Irish team that finished the season with three tournament titles as well as four runner-up finishes. Scodro won the BIG EAST individual title and finished in the top 10 in seven of his 10 tournaments this year. He led the conference with a 73.11 scoring average. The Irish also boast BIG EAST Rookie of the Year Niall Platt, who tied for the sixth at the BIG EAST Championship. Joining the Irish, who rank 54th according to Golfstat, at the Florida Regional will be (Golfstat ranking in parenthesis): Florida (5), Augusta State (6), Arkansas (17), Oregon (20), N.C. State (28), UCF (32), Baylor (42), Kennesaw State (43), Missouri (56), Southeastern Louisiana (65), Jacksonville State (80), Georgia Southern (115) and Jackson State (233). This will mark the 34th time that the Irish have qualified for postseason competition with the team winning the title once back in 1944. Additionally, the Irish finished runner-up in 1937 and third place in 1931, '33, '36 and '51 while finishing in the top 10 on 19 other occasions. NCAA Tournament Florida Regional Field (In order of Regional Seeding): 1. Florida 2. Augusta State 3. Arkansas 4. Oregon 5. N.C. State 6. UCF 7. Baylor 8. Kennesaw State 9. Notre Dame 10. Missouri 11. Southeastern Louisiana 12. Jacksonville State 13. Georgia Southern 14. Jackson State Individual Participants: 1. Philipp Fendt, Louisiana-Lafayette 2. Jack Hiluta, South Alabama 3. Jacobo Pastor, Charleston Southern 4. Andrew Noto, Louisiana-Lafayette 5. Bradley Story, Alabama A&M