Notre Dame's Sanders Named BIG EAST Women's Tennis Player of the Year

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The BIG EAST Conference announced its women's tennis regular season awards Thursday. Notre Dame junior Britney Sanders was named the Player of the Year, DePaul's Matea Cutura earned Freshman of the Year honors and Fighting Irish head coach Jay Louderback earned Coach of the Year accolades.


Sanders, a two-time All-BIG EAST selection, ranks No. 47 in the ITA National Singles Rankings and No. 84 in the ITA National Doubles Rankings. The junior posted a 14-11 singles record in the No. 1 spot and a 15-10 mark in No. 2 doubles. Sanders played an integral role in No. 23 Notre Dame's sixth-straight BIG EAST title. The junior went 3-0 in singles from the No. 1 spot with wins over No. 85 Cutura (3-6, 7-6, 6-1) and No. 104 Katie Vasenina of USF (7-6, 7-5) to earn the tournament's Most Outstanding Performer award. She was ranked the entire spring and reached as high as No. 39 April 16.


Cutura enjoyed a successful freshman campaign that featured two BIG EAST Player of the Week awards. She played the No. 1 position in singles the entire season for the nationally ranked Blue Demons and posted a 16-7 singles record. She also posted a 12-9 doubles mark in the No. 2 and No. 3 spots. The freshman went 5-2 against ITA nationally ranked opponents and spent 14 consecutive weeks in the rankings. She reached as high as No. 72 and finished the season at No. 85.


Louderback led Notre Dame to its sixth-straight BIG EAST Championship and league-high 13th title en route to his fourth consecutive Coach of the Year award. The Fighting Irish defeated USF 4-1 in the 2013 championship match and earned the league's automatic berth to the NCAA Championship. In 24 years with the program, Louderback and the Fighting Irish have reached the NCAA tournament 20 times.


The BIG EAST also announced the 12 player all-conference team. In addition to Sanders, Notre Dame was represented by junior Jennifer Kellner and freshman Quinn Gleason to lead all teams with three selections. Of the league's 15 schools, seven had players on the team, including three with two honorees each: No. 75 DePaul, Louisville and Syracuse. St. John's, Seton Hall and No. 64 USF all have one player on the team.



Matea Cutura, Fr., DePaul *

Patricia Fargas, So., DePaul

Julia Fellerhoff, Jr., Louisville

Becca Shine, Jr., Louisville

Quinn Gleason, Fr., Notre Dame

Jennifer Kellner, Jr., Notre Dame

Britney Sanders, Jr., Notre Dame *

Nevena Selakovic, Sr., St. John's *

Chloe Sher, Jr., Seton Hall

Katie Vasenina, Sr., USF *

Maddie Kobelt, Jr., Syracuse

Amanda Rodgers, So., Syracuse *


Player of the Year

Britney Sanders, Jr., Notre Dame *


Freshman of the Year

Matea Cutura, DePaul


Coach of the Year

Jay Louderback, Notre Dame


*unanimous selection