Notre Dame Sweeps Men's Tennis Regular Season Awards

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The 2013 BIG EAST men's tennis champions, No. 31 Notre Dame, swept the BIG EAST regular season awards Thursday. It marked the first time a BIG EAST team has swept all three honors since the regular season awards were announced in 2009.


For the second consecutive season, junior Greg Andrews was named the BIG EAST Men's Tennis Player of the Year. Notre Dame's Quentin Monaghan was named the Freshman of the Year and head coach Bobby Bayliss received the BIG EAST Coach of the Year honor. All three were unanimous selections.


Andrews, a two-time BIG EAST Player of the Year and three-time All-Conference selection, posted an 18-7 singles record playing in the No. 1 spot. The junior has been ranked among the nation's top 110 singles players all spring for the nationally ranked Fighting Irish, whose schedule featured eight matches against top-20 teams. Andrews also went 6-9 in No. 1 doubles and ended the season 3-0 on the No. 3 court. At the BIG EAST tournament, the junior went 2-0 in singles play on the No. 1 court and 1-0 in No. 3 doubles. In the championship match, he defeated No. 69 Sebastian Stiefelmeyer of Louisville 6-3, 7-5. The junior was selected as the Men's Most Outstanding Tournament Performer at the 2013 BIG EAST Championship. He also earned Player of the Week honors five times.


Monaghan was selected Freshman of the Year for his stellar singles play on the No. 2 and No. 3 courts with records of 18-4 and 9-3 respectively. In his first BIG EAST Championship, Monaghan posted a 3-0 record on the No. 2 court and a 2-0 mark in No. 3 doubles. Monaghan's 7-5, 6-3 win in the conference final was the deciding match as Notre Dame swept defending champion Louisville 4-0. The freshman also posted a 5-1 doubles record playing in the No. 3 spot.


Bayliss earned recognition as the BIG EAST Coach of the Year after claiming his ninth championship trophy with the Fighting Irish, second among all BIG EAST programs. Notre Dame claims the No. 31 spot in the ITA National Team Rankings with a 19-7 overall record and 3-0 BIG EAST mark. The team has not been ranked any lower than 31 all spring despite its difficult schedule and will return to the NCAA Championship for the 22nd time in 26 years under Bayliss.


The BIG EAST also announced the 13 player all-conference team. In addition to Andrews and Monaghan, Notre Dame was represented by senior Blas Moros and sophomore Billy Pecor. No. 48 Louisville and No. 65 USF claimed two all-conference honorees each. Representing the Cardinals were sophomore Sebastian Stiefelmeyer, unanimous selection, and classmate Albert Wagner. Sophomore Oliver Pramming and freshman Ignacio Gonzalez-Muniz, the No. 81-ranked doubles team, were honored on behalf of USF. Rounding out the unanimous selections were DePaul's Filip Dzanko and St. John's Vasko Mladenov. Georgetown, Marquette and Villanova all have one player on the team.



Filip Dzanko, Jr., DePaul *

Charlie Caris, Sr., Georgetown

Sebastian Stiefelmeyer, So., Louisville *

Albert Wagner, So., Louisville

Dan Mamalat, Jr., Marquette

Greg Andrews, Jr., Notre Dame *

Quentin Monaghan, Fr., Notre Dame *

Blas Moros, Sr., Notre Dame

Billy Pecor, So., Notre Dame

Vasko Mladenov, Sr., St. John's *

Oliver Pramming, So., USF

Ignacio Gonzalez-Muniz, Fr., USF

Thomas O'Brien, Jr., Villanova


Player of the Year

Greg Andrews, Jr., Notre Dame *


Freshman of the Year

Quentin Monaghan, Fr., Notre Dame *


Coach of the Year

Bobby Bayliss, Notre Dame *


*unanimous selection