DePaul's Patricia Fargas Named Women's Tennis Player of the Year

Xavier's Sydney Liggins

Xavier's Sydney Liggins

May 8, 2014

NEW YORK – DePaul junior Patricia Fargas added another piece of hardware to her trophy haul this season when she was named the BIG EAST Women’s Tennis Player of the Year and leads 12 student-athletes on the All-BIG EAST team.

Fargas was one of two Blue Demons to capture a major trophy, as Mark Ardizzone was named Coach of the Year. The third piece of hardware went to Xavier’s Sydney Liggins, who was named Freshman of the Year.

The major awards and All-BIG EAST team were voted on by the 10 head coaches who could not cast ballots for themselves or their own student-athletes.

Fargas adds the Player of the Year and all-conference accolades after being named the Most Outstanding Player at the BIG EAST Women’s Tennis Tournament. She helped lead DePaul to the conference title with a combined 6-0 record in both singles and doubles during the four-day tournament. She ranked as high as No. 125 nationally in the ITA rankings this season and enters the NCAA Tournament with a combined 33-10 mark in singles and doubles across the top two flights.

Liggins finished the season 19-5 in singles across the Nos. 1 and 2 flights, which included a 6-0 record against BIG EAST opponents during the regular season and conference tournament. In the Musketeers’ final match of the season, the BIG EAST tournament final against DePaul, Liggins was tied with fellow All-BIG EAST pick Ana Vladutu at one set apiece when the Blue Demons clinched championship point.

Ardizzone orchestrated a stellar season for DePaul, one that saw the Blue Demons climb into the top 40 of the ITA national rankings. DePaul is 22-3 entering the NCAA Tournament, boasting a combined 14-3 record in away and neutral matches. The Blue Demons have won five straight entering Friday’s meeting with Notre Dame in Evanston, Ill., in the NCAA’s first round. It’s Ardizzone’s second BIG EAST Coach of the Year trophy and first since 2009, and the Blue Demons are playing in their first NCAA Tournament in four years.



Fargas, Liggins and Vladutu were all unanimous picks to the All-BIG EAST team, as were Marquette junior Ana Pimienta and Seton Hall senior Chloe Sher. The full all-conference team is below.

Player of the Year – Patricia Fargas, DePaul, Jr.
Freshman of the Year – Sydney Liggins, Xavier, Fr.
Coach of the Year – Mark Ardizzone, DePaul

Kelsey Lawson, DePaul, Sr.
Patricia Fargas, DePaul, Jr. ^
Jasmin Kling, DePaul, Jr.
Ana Vladutu, DePaul, So. ^
Victoire Saperstein, Georgetown, Fr.
Ana Pimienta, Marquette, Jr. ^
Erin Gebes, Marquette, So.
Anastasia Polyakova, St. John’s, Jr.
Chloe Sher, Seton Hall, Sr. ^
Hannah Liljekvist, Seton Hall, So.
Alexandra Brinker, Xavier, So.
Sydney Liggins, Xavier, Fr. ^

^ - unanimous selection