Nine Unanimously Named to All-BIG EAST Men's Tennis Team

DePaul's Filip Dzanko

DePaul's Filip Dzanko

May 8, 2014

NEW YORK – 2014 BIG EAST Men’s Tennis Champion St. John’s, DePaul and Marquette boasted a team-high three selections when the 12-member all-conference team was announced Thursday morning. DePaul senior Filip Dzanko was named Player of the Year, while the Red Storm’s Robert Livi collected the Freshman of the Year trophy and Eric Rebhuhn was named Coach of the Year.

Xavier placed two and Creighton one to round out the 12-athlete team. The awards and All-BIG EAST team are voted on by the eight head coaches who could not cast ballots for themselves or their own student-athletes.

Dzanko went a combined 11-2 against BIG EAST opponents this season en route to 16 singles victories and 14 at doubles, all at the top flight. He played his best tennis at the end of the season, picking up 14 wins in his last 16 outings. His ledger against conference foes included a 5-2 doubles mark, and he played at the top flight in all 25 of DePaul’s dual matches this season, 14 of which came against ranked programs.

Livi picked up 14 singles victories across the Nos. 3, 4 and 5 flights this season, while 10 of his doubles wins were from the third position. He led the squad with four match clinchers, including a three-set victory that sealed a win over No. 43 Santa Clara back on March 9. His 14 singles wins are the most for a Red Storm freshman since 2009.

Rebhuhn coached St. John’s to the top seed in the BIG EAST Men’s Tennis Tournament, where the Red Storm picked up three victories to capture their first crown since 1991 and third overall. They’re off to the NCAA Tournament where they’ll battle Florida in Gainesville on Saturday. St. John’s is 16-7 entering the NCAA bracket boasting wins over ITA-ranked teams such as Yale and Santa Clara. Rebhuhn, now in his 13th season in Queens, was last named BIG EAST Coach of the Year in 2011.

An amazing nine players were unanimous picks to the All-BIG EAST squad, with Dzanko and Livi leading a list that included Creighton senior Billy Paluch, sophomore Sten Leusink of DePaul, Marquette senior Dan Mamalat and junior Vukasin Teofanovic, junior Erick Reyes and sophomore Vaidik Munshaw of St. John’s, and Xavier senior Mesa Mei. The full All-BIG EAST team is listed below.



Player of the Year – Filip Dzanko, DePaul, Sr.
Freshman of the Year – Robert Livi, St. John’s, Fr.
Coach of the Year – Eric Rebhuhn, St. John’s

Billy Paluch, Creighton, Sr. ^
Filip Dzanko, DePaul, Sr. ^
David Vieyra, DePaul, Jr.
Sten Leusink, DePaul, So. ^
Dan Mamalat, Marquette, Sr. ^
Vukasin Teofanovic, Marquette, Jr. ^
Nick Dykema, Marquette, Fr.
Erick Reyes, St. John’s, Jr. ^
Vaidik Munshaw, St. John’s, So. ^
Robert Livi, St. John’s, Fr. ^
Jimmy Roebker, Xavier, Sr.
Mesa Mei, Xavier, Sr. ^

^ - unanimous selection