BIG EAST Announces Winners of Michael Tranghese Postgraduate Leadership Award

Chloe Sher, Seton Hall

Chloe Sher, Seton Hall

June 2, 2014

NEW YORK – Tennis standouts Chloe Sher of Seton Hall and James Roebker of Xavier have been chosen as the winners of the 2013-14 BIG EAST Michael Tranghese Postgraduate Leadership Award, as selected by the BIG EAST Conference Academic Affairs Committee.

The awards are given to one male and one female student-athlete from a BIG EAST-sponsored sport who have been admitted to a degree-granting or professional program for the following year and who have demonstrated leadership through excellence in academic credentials, athletic performance and depth of commitment to service within the institution or the community.

Sher and Roebker will each receive a $5,000 scholarship, which may be applied to postgraduate study. The award is named for Michael Tranghese, the BIG EAST’s first full-time employee who served as commissioner of the conference from 1990 to 2009.

Sher will attend the University of British Columbia and work towards Master of Arts in resource management and environment studies. Roebker will remain at Xavier to pursue his master’s degree in business administration.

One of the most prolific players to take the court for Seton Hall, Sher was one of five unanimous All-BIG EAST selections this season. She led the team with 14 victories and a .667 winning percentage in head-to-head competition, all at the No. 1 spot. Her spring ledger also included four wins against BIG EAST opponents – all of which came in straight sets. Sher entered the spring as part of the ninth-ranked doubles team in the Northeast Region, winning 12 of her 16 matches.

In the classroom, Sher carried a 3.879 grade point average while majoring in environmental studies. The Tin Shui Wai, Hong Kong native has been on the Dean’s List every semester at Seton Hall and was inducted into the Chi Alpha Sigma National College Athlete Honor Society in 2013. She has been involved in a number of volunteer initiatives, including the H.A.L.L. program which reads to pre-school children in Newark, N.J., as well as the Seton Hall Division of Volunteer Efforts which distributed clothes to the homeless.



Roebker closed the 2013-14 season with an 11-15 record, going 5-12 at No. 1 and 6-3 at No. 2. The native of Ft. Mitchell, Ky., was selected to the All-BIG EAST Team this spring, wrapping up his illustrious collegiate career with four all-conference certificates. Roebker also went 12-6 at the No. 1 doubles spot this season.

In the classroom, Roebker showed a 3.94 GPA with a concentration in life sciences for business. He has been on the dean’s list every semester since stepping onto Xavier’s campus in 2010-11, while also being named to the 2013 Capital One Academic All-District At-Large Team. Roebker is a three-time ITA Scholar Athlete whose bevy of extracurricular activities include Buddy Up Tennis, which teaches tennis and fitness to children with Down syndrome, while being an active participate in XU SAAC.

The Michael Tranghese Postgraduate Leadership award is one of a number of scholarships presented by the BIG EAST Conference during the 2013-14 academic year. In addition to this award, which was introduced for the 2010-11 academic year, 20 student-athletes (one male and one female from each of the BIG EAST’s 10 member institutions) have been named as the winners of the BIG EAST Institutional Scholar-Athlete Scholarships. The conference also names male and female BIG EAST Basketball Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

Michael Tranghese Postgraduate Leadership Award
2011   Tyler Davis – Notre Dame – Tennis
Amy Zhang – Rutgers – Tennis

2012  Benjamin Forrest – Rutgers – Cross Country/Track & Field
Allison Schroeder – Notre Dame – Cross Country/Track & Field

2013  Michael Moore – Notre Dame – Tennis
Kaci Madden – Rutgers – Softball

2014   James Roebker – Xavier – Tennis
Chloe Sher – Seton Hall – Tennis