BIG EAST Earns 19 Entries to NCAA Men's Outdoor Track & Field Championship

Eighteen BIG EAST athletes earned qualifying marks last week at the NCAA East and West Regional meets held on May 26-28 and will compete at the 2011 NCAA Men's Outdoor Track & Field Championship in Des Moines, Iowa, on June 8-11. The 18 athletes are from 12 different institutions and earned 19 entries to the NCAA Championship, the seventh-most for any conference in the country.
DePaul junior Tim Nedow is the only BIG EAST athlete to earn multiple entries into the NCAA Championship. Nedow earned the No. 22 seed in the shot put and No. 19 seed in the discus. The junior won the 2011 BIG EAST title in the shot put with a toss of 17.75 meters.
Louisville senior Matt Hughes earned the No. 1 seed in the 3,000-meter steeplechase after winning his heat at the East Regional with a time of 8:35.74. Hughes won the 2011 BIG EAST title in the event and is the defending national champion.
Villanova senior Matthew Gibney is one of four BIG EAST athletes to qualify for the NCAA Championship in 1,500-meter run. Gibney won his heat at the East Regional with a time of 3:46.29 and will be the No. 8 seed at the final in Des Moines. Notre Dame sophomore Jeremy Rae, the 2011 BIG EAST champion in the event, also qualified as the No. 11 seed and teammate Johnathan Shawel is the No. 15 seed. Providence junior Julian Matthews rounds out the BIG EAST athletes in the event as the No. 22 seed.
Three other BIG EAST athletes qualified in the top 10 of their respective events, including Cincinnati junior Terence Somerville and USF junior David Aristil. Somerville qualified as the No. 8 seed in the 110-meter hurdles. He set the BIG EAST Championship record in the event while winning the 2011 title, crossing the finish line in 13.44 seconds. Aristil, the 2011 400-meter hurdle champion, qualified as the No. 6 seed in the event.
Syracuse sophomore Tito Medrano, the 2011 BIG EAST 10,000-meter champion, rounded out the top 10 qualifiers as the No. 5 seed in the event.
The NCAA Championship will be held from June 8-11 in Des Moines, Iowa, hosted by Drake University.
19. Jack Howard, Notre Dame
20. Michael Rutt, Connecticut
8. Matthew Gibney, Villanova
11. Jeremy Rae, Notre Dame
15. Johnathan Shawel, Notre Dame
22. Julian Matthews, Providence
3,000m steeplechase
1. Matt Hughes, Louisville
19. Eric Finan, Cincinnati
5. Tito Medrano, Syracuse
13. Michael Eaton, Louisville
110m hurdles
8. Terence Somerville, Cincinnati
22. Chris Kinney, Georgetown
400m hurdles
6. David Aristil, USF
15. Jermaine Lowery, Pittsburgh
20. Aaron Younger, Rutgers
High jump
15. Adam Bergo, Rutgers
Shot put
22. Tim Nedow, DePaul
11. Jared Thomas, USF
19. Tim Nedow, DePaul