Villanova Women's Cross Country Named Scholar Team

NEW ORLEANS - The Wildcats of Villanova University are the USTFCCCA NCAA Division I Women's Scholar Team of the Year for the 2010 cross country season as announced Wednesday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). The Wildcats, two-time consecutive national champions, earned the award for the second-straight year. Scholar Teams of the year are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest as a team at the most recent NCAA Championships. USTFCCCA NCAA Division I Cross Country Women's Scholar Team of the Year - Villanova University Villanova's squad, coached by Gina Procaccio, accumulated a cumulative GPA of 3.38 through the fall 2010 semester. The Wildcats won their second-consecutive and record-breaking eighth overall national title in the fall. The back-to-back titles were Villanova's first since winning six-straight from 1989 to 1994. No other team in Division I women's cross country has won as many titles as Villanova. In the 2010 championships, Villanova scored two runners in the race's top ten and were able to score a 120-154 victory over national runner-up Florida State. Villanova also won the NCAA Mid-Atlantic crown for the second-straight year, needing a hard-fought 29-40 victory over Georgetown to take the title. The Wildcats finished the season undefeated and also won team top honors at the Penn State National and Notre Dame Invitational. Past Winners 2010: Villanova 2009: Villanova 2008: Washington 2007: Stanford 2006: Stanford