BIG EAST Cross Country Week 2 Notebook

PROVIDENCE, R.I.- Connecticut junior Lauren Sara and DePaul junior Eddie McDaniel earned BIG EAST Cross Country Athlete of the Week honors after impressive performances last weekend.

McDaniel finished first with a time of 19:02.34 on the 6K course at the NIU Huskie Open in DeKalb, Ill. After only competing in two races during the 2011 cross country season, the junior has already recorded a first-place finish in 2012. DePaul placed third at the NIU Huskie Open, missing a second-place finish in team scoring by one point against Marquette, UIC and Chicago State.

Sara raced to a second-place finish in 21:23.5 on the 6K course at the Dartmouth Invitational in Hanover, N.H. The junior finished second to Dartmouth's Abbey D'Agostino, who placed third at the NCAA Cross Country Championship a year ago. The Huskies finished fourth at the Dartmouth Invitational behind No. 3 Georgetown, Dartmouth and No. 9 Syracuse.


Notes From Around the League:


DePaul and Marquette Men Compete at NIU Huskie Open

  • The Marquette men's team claimed the top spot in the NIU Huskie Open in DeKalb, Ill., on Sept. 8. The Golden Eagles edged UIC by 13 points. DePaul finished third.
  • BIG EAST runners took seven of the top 10 individual times at the NIU Huskie Open, with DePaul's Eddie McDaniel finishing the 6K course in 19:02.34.


St. John's and Seton Hall Women Go 1,2 at Hofstra

  • The St. John's women's squad took first place at the Hofstra Brick Stone Run, with Seton Hall finishing second, one point behind.
  • Seton Hall's Hughnique Rolle finished first with a time of 16:15.85 on the 5K course at Bethpage State Park in Farmingdale, N.Y.
  • Rolle's first-place finish marks the first time an individual runner for the Pirates has won a competition since 2010.


Georgetown Women Victorious at Dartmouth Invitational

  • The Georgetown women won the Dartmouth Invitational in Hanover, N.H.
  • Connecticut and Syracuse also ran the 6K course, which was extended from the 5K distance.
  • The Hoyas, who are the defending NCAA Cross Country Champions, won by a commanding 24 points.