Nine BIG EAST Cross Country Teams Qualify for NCAA Championships

PROVIDENCE, R.I.- With NCAA Regional competition at a close, five women's and four men's BIG EAST Cross Country teams were selected to compete in the NCAA Championships at E.P. Tom Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Ky., on Nov. 17. On the women's side, Connecticut, Georgetown and Providence received automatic bids while Notre Dame and Villanova qualified at-large. The Georgetown and Villanova men's teams qualified automatically and Syracuse and Notre Dame received at-large bids.


On the men's side, Georgetown and Villanova finished first and second respectively in the Mid-Atlantic region. Syracuse finished third in the Northeast region, and Notre Dame placed fifth in the Great Lakes region.


For the women, 2012 BIG EAST Champion and 2011 NCAA Champion Georgetown finished second and Villanova finished third in the Mid-Atlantic region. Providence finished first and Connecticut finished second in the Northeast region. Notre Dame placed third in the Great Lakes region.


There are nine NCAA cross country regions, with the top two seven-person teams receiving automatic bids to the NCAA Championship. The men's and women's championships will feature 31 teams each, including 18 automatic qualifiers and 13 at-large selections.


Senior Sarah Pagano from Syracuse and sophomore Shane Quinn from Providence will also participate in NCAA Championships. The pair will run individually after finishing in the top-25 in their respective regions. Pagano finished 13th and Quinn placed third in the Northeast region.


Louisville will host the NCAA Championships at E.P. Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Ky., on Nov. 17. The women's race will kick off the event at noon, with the men's race to follow at 1:15 p.m. ET.