2014 BIG EAST Baseball Championship Presented by New York Life Returns to Brooklyn and Celebrated MCU Park

May 13, 2014

NEW YORK - The BIG EAST will bring its 2014 Baseball Championship presented by New York Life back to Brooklyn for a highly anticipated return to the home of the Brooklyn Cyclones, MCU Park, from May 22-25. Located mere steps from Coney Island's famous boardwalk, MCU Park will host the Championships for the first time since 2007.

Tickets to the competitive contests are on sale to the general public through the website brooklyncyclones.com, at the MCU Box Office, or over the phone at 718-507-TIXX.

The tournament will begin on Thursday, May 22 at 4:00 p.m., and feature the conference's four top teams vying for a spot in Sunday's final. Creighton University, St. John's University and Seton Hall University have all clinched qualifying berths, leaving Butler and Xavier still competing for the final spot.

"We are excited to bring the BIG EAST Baseball Championships back to Brooklyn, and to such an iconic location as MCU Park and the Coney Island Boardwalk," said BIG EAST Conference Commissioner Val Ackerman. "The sport of baseball has enjoyed a long and rich history in Brooklyn, and the conference is thrilled to bring our schools to NYC to be a part of the tradition. We look forward to collaborating with the Cyclones for what promises to be a spirited, action-packed event for area fans and families."

All six games of the BIG EAST Baseball Championship will have live coverage, with the first five live streamed on www.bigeast.com. The title game will be broadcast live on FOX Sports 1 (FS1). LINACRE Media, a production partner of the BIG EAST Conference, will produce and live stream the opening round games of the BIG EAST Baseball Championship on www.bigeast.com.

Headquartered in New York City, the BIG EAST is Butler University, Creighton University, DePaul University, Georgetown University, Marquette University, Providence College, St. John's University, Seton Hall University, Villanova University, and Xavier University. The BIG EAST institutions are located in seven of the nation's top 35 largest media markets, including New York, Chicago, Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., Indianapolis, Milwaukee and Cincinnati.