Three BIG EAST Teams Selected for 2011 NCAA Baseball Championship Field

Three BIG EAST teams earned spots in the 2011 NCAA Baseball Championship field as announced by the NCAA selection committee on Monday. Connecticut, St. John's and Seton Hall were each selected to the field of 64 and will participate in the Regional round on June 3-6. Each region features four teams competing in a double elimination format with one team from each region moving into the Super Regional round.
After winning its first BIG EAST Championship title since 2001, Seton Hall (33-23) earned the BIG EAST's automatic bid into the 2011 NCAA Baseball Championship. The Pirates defeated St. John's 4-2 in the title game on Sunday at Bright House Field in Clearwater, Fla. Seton Hall is the No. 3 seed in the College Station Regional and will take on No. 2 seed Arizona on June 3. Big 12 champion Texas A&M is the No. 1 seed in the region while Horizon League champion Wright State is the No. 4 seed. The Pirates last participated in the NCAA Championship in 2001, when the team was eliminated in Regionals after going 2-2. The winner of the College Station Regional will face the winner of the Tallahassee Regional in the Super Regional round.
Connecticut (41-17-1), the 2011 BIG EAST regular-season champion, earns the No. 2 seed in the Clemson Regional as an at-large selection. The Huskies won their first BIG EAST regular-season championship and were the No. 1 seed in the BIG EAST Championship. Connecticut is making its second straight trip to the NCAA Championship. The Huskies will battle No. 3 seed Coastal Carolina on June 3. Clemson is the No. 1 seed in the region while Northeast Conference champion Sacred Heart in the No. 4 seed. The winner of the Clemson Regional will face the winner of the Columbia Regional in the Super Regional round.
St. John's (35-20) earned the No. 3 seed in the Charlottesville Regional as an at-large selection and will face No. 2 seed East Carolina on June 3. The Red Storm finished second in the BIG EAST in the regular season and lost to Seton Hall in the title game of the 2011 BIG EAST Championship. The program is making its third trip to the NCAA Championship in the last four year. St. John's is paired in the region with No. 1 overall seed Virginia, which will face No. 4 seed Navy in the first game of the regional. The winner of the Charlottesville Regional will take on the winner of the Los Angeles Regional in the Super Regional round.
The NCAA Regionals will take place from June 3-6 at 16 different regional sites. The winners of each Regional will move on to the Super Regional round, which is a best of three series for the right to head to Omaha, Neb., for the 2011 College World Series. The 2011 College World Series will be held at TD Ameritrade Park from June 18-28/29.
For a complete look at the field of 64, please visit