35 Countdown: 1990


Feb. 15, 2014

Led by Dave Gavitt Trophy winner Chris Smith, Connecticut won its first BIG EAST tournament crown.

The No. 2-seeded Huskies beat No. 1 Syracuse 78-75 in the championship and UConn fans celebrated on the Garden floor. It was the first time the Huskies had reached the final and capped a quick climb to the top of the BIG EAST under coach Jim Calhoun.

It was a sweet victory for Smith, a Connecticut schoolboy star who was convinced by Calhoun to stay home and play for the Huskies.

“To hold the MVP trophy was definitely the best highlight of my career at UConn,” said Smith.

Smith got ample support from fellow All-Tournament selections Tate George and John Gwynn. Derrick Coleman and Stephen Thompson of Syracuse were also named to the team.