35 Countdown: 2009


March 6, 2014

In a game for the ages and what seemed to take ages to finish, Syracuse and Connecticut played six overtimes which lasted 3 hours and 46 minutes before the Orange prevailed 127-117. The quarterfinal game finished at 1:22 a.m.

Team and individual player statistics were staggering. Syracuse guard Jonny Flynn played 67 minutes and finished with 34 points, 11 assists and six steals.

Syracuse, the tourney's sixth seed, was back on the court the very next night and played yet another overtime game, edging West Virginia 74-69 in the semifinals.

The Orange's marathon run ended in the final when top-seeded Louisville won 76-66.

Flynn was only the fourth player from a losing team to win the Dave Gavitt Trophy. All-Tournament Team members were A.J. Price of Connecticut, Earl Clark and Terrence Williams of Louisville, Eric Devendorf of Syracuse and Devin Ebanks of West Virginia.