35 Countdown: 2010


March 7, 2014

Georgetown came into the tournament as the eighth seed. The Hoyas left the tournament as the runner-up as only a late lane jumper by Dave Gavitt Trophy winner Da’Sean Butler prevented the upset and preserved a 60-58 West Virginia victory.

The third-seeded Mountaineers lived on the ledge the entire tournament winning its three games by a total of seven points. West Virginia beat Cincinnati 54-51 in the quarterfinals and edged Notre Dame 53-51 in the next round.

The Hoyas knocked out top-seeded Syracuse 91-84 in the quarterfinals and ousted fifth seeded Marquette 80-57 to reach the final.

All-Tournament Team members were Greg Monroe and Chris Wright of the Hoyas, Lazar Hayward of Marquette, Tory Jackson of Notre Dame and Kevin Jones of the Mountaineers, whose season did not end until the Final Four.