Notre Dame Tim Abromaitis Named American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year


PROVIDENCE, R.I. - University of Notre Dame forward Tim Abromaitis, a two-time Academic All-America selection and one of the nation's most prolific 3-point shooters, has been chosen as the 2010-11 American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The selection was made by the Conference's Academic Affairs Committee.
A senior from Unionville, Conn., Abromaitis will receive a $2,000 scholarship, which may be applied to graduate or professional studies. He is the third player to win the award in back-to-back seasons, joining Arturas Karnishovas of Seton Hall (1993, 1994) and Emeka Okafor of Connecticut (2003, 2004).
Abromaitis enters the 2011 BIG EAST Championship presented by American Eagle Outfitters as the second-leading scorer on a Notre Dame squad that is ranked No. 4 in the nation. He is averaging 15.2 points per game and is sixth in the BIG EAST in 3-point shooting (.419) entering the conference tournament.
Abromaitis was one of five players nationally who was named to the Capital One Academic All-America First Team as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America, earning the honor for a second consecutive year.
Abromaitis earned his undergraduate degree from Notre Dame in May 2010 after completing a rigorous four-year business program in just three years. He is currently enrolled in Notre Dame's accelerated MBA program, which allows candidates with undergraduate business degrees the opportunity to complete in 11 months a program that traditionally takes two years. Abromaitis is one of the youngest students to enroll in that program and is one of just a handful of students to join the program immediately after his undergraduate studies. A member of Notre Dame's Rosenthal Leadership Academy, Abromaitis' community service efforts includes participation in a Buddy Walk to raise awareness of diabetes and serving on the planning committee for the Irish women's basketball breast cancer awareness game.
The American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is one of a number of scholarships presented by the BIG EAST Conference and American Eagle Outfitters during the 2010-11 academic year. In addition, 32 student-athletes (one male and one female from each of the BIG EAST's 16 member institutions) will receive postgraduate scholarships as the winners of their respective institutions' Scholar-Athlete Award. The conference also names a BIG EAST Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  The winners of the institutional, basketball and football awards are then eligible for the BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, which provides an additional postgraduate scholarship to one male and one female student-athlete.
American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Men's Basketball Scholar-Athletes Of The Year
1985 Mike Moses St. John's
1986 Ron Rowan St. John's 
1987 Harold Jensen Villanova 
1988 Mark Plansky Villanova 
1989 Ramon Ramos Seton Hall 
1990 Stephen Thompson Syracuse 
1991 Greg Woodard Villanova 
1992 Darren Morningstar Pittsburgh 
1993 Arturas Karnishovas Seton Hall 
1994 Arturas Karnishovas Seton Hall
1995 Marc Molinsky Boston College 
1996 Adrian Griffin Seton Hall 
1997 Ya Ya Dia Georgetown 
1998 Pat Garrity Notre Dame
1999 Rob Hodgson Rutgers
2000 Lavor Postell St. John's
2001 Ruben Boumtje Boumtje Georgetown
2002 Carlton Carter Virginia Tech
2003 Emeka Okafor Connecticut
2004 Emeka Okafor Connecticut
2005 Craig Forth Syracuse
2006 Joe Herber West Virginia
2007 Aaron Gray Pittsburgh
2008 Ted Talkington West Virginia
2009 Alex Ruoff West Virginia
2010 Tim Abromaitis Notre Dame
2011 Tim Abromaitis Notre Dame