35 Countdown: 2013


March 10, 2014

Louisville made it two consecutive BIG EAST titles with a historic second-half comeback win over Syracuse in the championship game.

Behind 35-22, the Cardinals rallied to stage one of the largest halftime comebacks in tournament history to beat the Orangemen 78-61.

The Cardinals’ Peyton Siva was also a repeat winner, grabbing Dave Gavitt Trophy honors again. The only other two-time winner was Georgetown's Patrick Ewing.

There was drama as well in the semifinals when rivals Georgetown, the No. 1 seed, and Syracuse clashed. The Orange prevailed 58-55 in overtime. Louisville had a bit easier time beating Notre Dame 69-57 in the semifinals.

Syracuse placed James Southerland and Brandon Triche on the All-Tournament Team along with Russ Smith of the Cardinals, Markel Starks of Georgetown and Pat Connaughton of Notre Dame.