Louisville Guard Peyton Siva Named American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - University of Louisville guard Peyton Siva, who led the Cardinals to a share of the BIG EAST regular-season championship in 2013, has been chosen as the 2012-13 American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The selection was made by the Conference's Academic Affairs Committee.


A senior from Seattle, Wash., Siva will receive a $2,000 scholarship, which may be applied to graduate or professional studies, as the Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year. He also will receive an additional $2,000 award as Louisville's Institutional Male Scholar-Athlete. He is the first player from Louisville to earn Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.


Siva started all 31 regular-season games as the Cardinals' point guard, helping Louisville go 26-5 overall and 14-4 in BIG EAST play. He averaged 9.9 points and 6.2 assists per game. He led the BIG EAST in free throw shooting, making 88.7 percent of his attempts and was fourth in the league in both assists and steals. Chosen as the 2012-13 BIG EAST Preseason Player of the Year, Siva was an All-BIG EAST Third Team choice and a Capital One Academic All-America Second Team selection this season.


Siva, in his third year as a starter, helped Louisville to the NCAA Final Four and the BIG EAST tournament championship in 2012 as he averaged 9.1 points and 5.6 assists per game. He was the recipient of the 2012 Dave Gavitt Trophy as the Most Outstanding Player of the BIG EAST Championship.


Siva holds a 3.41 grade-point average as a sociology major. He is a member of the Chi Alpha Sigma honor society and was chosen as a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award in recognition of his athletic, academic and community service record. He has participated in Louisville's Gifts of Christmas program and has served as a guest speaker at a number of area elementary schools.


The American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is one of a number of scholarships presented by the BIG EAST Conference and American Eagle Outfitters during the 2012-13 academic year. In addition, 30 student-athletes (one male and one female from each of the BIG EAST's 15 member institutions) will receive postgraduate scholarships as the winners of their respective institutions' Scholar-Athlete Award. The conference also names a BIG EAST Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  The winners of the institutional, basketball and football awards are then eligible for the BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, which provides an additional postgraduate scholarship to one male and one female student-athlete.


American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Men's Basketball Scholar-Athletes Of The Year

1985        Mike Moses                             St. John's

1986        Ron Rowan                              St. John's

1987        Harold Jensen                          Villanova

1988        Mark Plansky                           Villanova

1989        Ramon Ramos                          Seton Hall

1990        Stephen Thompson                  Syracuse

1991        Greg Woodard                        Villanova

1992        Darren Morningstar                 Pittsburgh

1993        Arturas Karnishovas                 Seton Hall

1994        Arturas Karnishovas                 Seton Hall

1995        Marc Molinsky                        Boston College

1996        Adrian Griffin                          Seton Hall

1997        Ya Ya Dia                                Georgetown

1998        Pat Garrity                               Notre Dame

1999        Rob Hodgson                          Rutgers

2000        Lavor Postell                            St. John's

2001        Ruben Boumtje Boumtje         Georgetown

2002        Carlton Carter                          Virginia Tech

2003        Emeka Okafor                         Connecticut

2004        Emeka Okafor                         Connecticut

2005        Craig Forth                              Syracuse

2006        Joe Herber                              West Virginia

2007        Aaron Gray                              Pittsburgh

2008        Ted Talkington                        West Virginia

2009        Alex Ruoff                               West Virginia

2010        Tim Abromaitis                        Notre Dame

2011        Tim Abromaitis                        Notre Dame

2012        Tim Abromaitis                        Notre Dame

2013        Peyton Siva                             Louisville