BIG EAST Announces Winners of 2010-11 Team Academic Excellence Awards

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The BIG EAST Conference has announced the 26 teams that have been recognized with 2010-11 Team Academic Excellence Awards recognizing the highest collective grade-point averages in each conference sport. Eleven BIG EAST schools had at least one team honored as DePaul finished with a conference-best five teams recognized. Notre Dame and Syracuse had four teams recognized, while Cincinnati, Georgetown, Louisville and St. John's had two each. Rutgers, Seton Hall and West Virginia were represented by one team each. The winners were chosen based on the 2010-11 grade-point average of each student-athlete who appeared on an institution's roster as of the last contest of the championship segment in each conference-sponsored sport.