Marasco and Ridgway Named Mens Lacrosse Players of the Week

Syracuse's JoJo Marasco was named BIG EAST Men's Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Week, while Notre Dame's Kevin Ridgway earned BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Week honors in the second week of the season. Marasco tied his career high with five points in SU's 11-9 win against No. 18 Army on Feb. 27. He had three goals and two assists in the contest, having a hand in five of the 11 goals scored. Four of Marasco's points came in the first half, including all three goals, as SU built a 9-3 halftime lead. His fifth point, an assist, came on SU's final goal with 1:06 to play, sealing the victory. He also had two ground balls and one caused turnover. Marasco leads the Orange with nine points in the team's first two games. Ridgway helped the Irish defense limit Penn State to just two goals as Notre Dame won 6-2 on Feb. 27. It was the fewest goals allowed by the Irish in a game since the 2009 season. Ridgway forced a game-high three turnovers in addition to picking up one ground ball. The Notre Dame defense surrendered just 19 shots, including 10 on goal. BIG EAST Weekly Honor Roll Ryan Shaw, Providence, Fr., M Picked up 11 ground balls and won 14-of-18 faceoffs to help the Friars to a 14-10 win against Wagner. Will Mangan, Rutgers, Jr., M Had three points and four ground balls in a 12-5 win against UMBC. Jeff Lowman, St. John's, So., G Made 15 saves in a 10-8 loss to Yale. John Galloway, Syracuse, Sr., G Made nine saves, seven in the second half, to help the Orange defeat No. 18 Army. The victory was his 46th- fourth on the NCAA Division I career wins list. Kevin Cunningham, Villanova, Jr., A Tallied three goals and an assist in a 10-8 loss at Bucknell. Captured two ground balls and one caused turnover. BIG EAST men's lacrosse is in its second season and is the 24th sport sponsored by the BIG EAST and the 11th men's sport. The seven conference schools participating are Georgetown, Notre Dame, Providence, Rutgers, St. John's, Syracuse and Villanova. The teams will play a six-game single round-robin regular-season schedule.