Eight BIG EAST Men's Lacrosse Players Named to 2011 Tewaaraton Watch List

 PROVIDENCE, R.I. - Eight BIG EAST men's lacrosse players are among the 25 nominees for the 2011 Tewaaraton Award. The award is presented annually to the nation's top collegiate lacrosse player.
Five finalists will be selected from the list of nominees. The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011 at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. Event details and ticket information can be found at www.TewaaratonAward.org. Fans can also follow the Tewaaraton Award on Facebook for daily updates and news.      
The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 by The University Club of Washington, D.C., and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is awarded annually to the NCAA male and female lacrosse players of the year. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida,Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award event is set to recognize the Year of the Tuscarora.   
The quartet of senior John Galloway, senior Stephen Keogh, senior John Lade and senior Joel White from Syracuse are the most from any one school.
From Notre Dame, senior captains Zach Brenneman, David Earl and Kevin Ridgway are on the list. All three were on the initial 58-man Tewaaraton Trophy Watch List. 
Senior Brian Karalunas from Villanova represents the third BIG EAST school to be included on the watch list.
Men's 2011 Tewaaraton Award Nominees
Peter Baum, Colgate University - Sophomore (Midfield), Portland, Ore.
Billy Bitter, University of North Carolina - Senior (Attack), Manhasset, N.Y.
Jeremy Boltus, United States Military Academy - Senior (Attack), Baldwinsville, N.Y.
Zach Brenneman, University of Notre Dame - Senior (Midfield), East Hampton, N.Y.
Jay Card, Hofstra University - Senior (Attack), Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Grant Catalino, University of Maryland - Senior (Attack), Webster, N.Y.
C.J. Costabile, Duke University - Junior (Midfield), New Fairfield, Conn.
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook University - Senior (Midfield), New Westminster, British Columbia, Canada
David Earl, University of Notre Dame - Senior (Midfield), Simsbury, Conn.
Brian Farrell, University of Maryland - Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, Md.
John Galloway, Syracuse University - Senior (Goalkeeper), Syracuse, N.Y.
D.J. Hessler, Tufts University - Senior (Attack), Monkton, Md.
Zach Howell, Duke University - Senior (Attack), Huntington, N.Y.
Shayne Jackson, Limestone College - Junior (Attack), Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Brian Karalunas, Villanova University - Senior (Defense), Dewitt, N.Y.
Stephen Keogh, Syracuse University - Senior (Attack), Toronto, Ontario, Canada
John Lade, Syracuse University - Senior (Defense), Randolph, N.J.
Rob Pannell, Cornell University - Junior (Attack), Smithtown, N.Y.
John Ranagan, Johns Hopkins University - Sophomore (Midfield), Yorktown, N.Y.
Adam Rand, Stony Brook University - Senior (Midfield), Niantic, Conn.
Kevin Ridgway, University of Notre Dame - Senior (Defense), Kensington, Md.
Steele Stanwick, University of Virginia - Junior (Attack), Baltimore, Md.
Garret Thul, United States Military Academy - Sophomore (Attack), Flemington, N.J.
Joel White, Syracuse University - Senior (Midfield), Cortland, N.Y.
Ryan Young, University of Maryland - Senior (Attack), Manhasset, N.Y.