Three BIG EAST Men's Lacrosse Players Named 2012 Tewaaraton Nominees

Three BIG EAST players were announced as part of the men's nominees for the Tewaaraton Trophy, presented by Panama Jack. Villanova attackman Kevin Cunningham, Notre Dame goalie John Kemp and Syracuse defenseman Brian Megill were on the list of 25 men selected as nominees, from which the five finalists for the 12th annual Tewaaraton Award will be selected. The finalists will be honored May 31, 2012, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The original men's and women's watch lists, were announced Feb. 15 with additions made March 20 and April 3 and were ultimately comprised of 82 men's players and 57 women's players.

Cunningham, the 2012 BIG EAST Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, leads the Wildcats with 38 points via 18 goals and 20 assists. For his career, the senior attackman has posted 145 points, 66 goals and 79 assists. He currently ranks fourth all-time at Villanova averaging 2.64 points per game and 79 assists in his career, and is fifth on the list of all-time Villanova greats with 145 points.

An Inside Lacrosse Midseason First Team All-American, Megill leads the Orange in ground balls (48) and has caused a single-season school record 32 turnovers. His average of 2.46 caused turnovers per game ranks fourth nationally. In addition, Megill has one goal, two assists and a 52.9 faceoff winning percentage (18-34) this season.

Kemp has started all 14 games for the Irish this season, posting an 11-3 record. Kemp leads the nation in both save percentage (.602) and goals against average (6.60). He has made 139 saves this season, averaging 10.91 per game, which ranks 13th nationally.

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy - the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora - and presents two scholarships to students of Iroquois descent. For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, please visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at and