Three BIG EAST Teams Selected to Compete in the 2011 NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship

Three BIG EAST men's lacrosse teams were selected to compete in the 2011 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship. Syracuse (14-1) is the top-seed in the 16-team field, while Notre Dame earned a No. 4 seed and Villanova was also selected with an at-large bid. The Orange will face Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) champion Siena in the first round on Sunday, May 15 at 7:30 p.m. in the Carrier Dome. The game will be televised live on ESPNU. Syracuse is making its 31st appearance in the NCAA playoffs. Notre Dame will play host to unseeded Penn on Saturday in the tournament's first round. The game is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. (ET) at Arlotta Stadium and will be broadcast live on ESPNU. Notre Dame will be making its 16th trip overall, and sixth straight, to the NCAA Championship. Notre Dame advanced to the title game of the NCAA Championship for the first time in program history one year ago. The Irish fell to Duke 6-5 in overtime. The Wildcats earned their second bid in program history after posting an 11-4 overall record this season. Villanova will face Denver at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium on the Denver University campus. Game time is scheduled for Sunday, May 15th at 3:15 MT/5:15 ET. Quarterfinals will take place on May 21 or 22 in Hempstead, N.Y. and Foxborough, Mass. The semifinals will be held at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, Md. on May 28, with the final played on May 30 at 3:30 p.m.