Syracuse's White and Galloway Among Five Finalists for Tewaaraton Award

Syracuse seniors Joel White, a longstick midfielder, and John Galloway, a goalkeeper, have been selected as two of the five finalists for the 2011 Tewaaraton Award, which is presented to the nation's top lacrosse player.
The finalists for this year's award were announced on Friday, May 13 by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. Joining White and Galloway as finalists for college lacrosse's top prize are attackmen Steele Stanwick (Virginia), Rob Pannell (Cornell) and Jeremy Boltus (Army).
This is the second consecutive season White has been selected as a Tewaaraton finalist. A unanimous 2011 All-BIG EAST First Team choice, White leads the Orange in ground balls (69) and ranks second on the team with 23 caused turnovers. Offensively, he's contributed four goals and two assists.
White's career numbers are the best among the best in program history. He currently ranks third all-time at Syracuse in ground balls (273) and is the school's career leader in points (28) and goals (18) by a defensive player.
Galloway is just the second goalie ever to be named a Tewaaraton finalist, joining Princeton's Trevor Tierney (2001). Like White, Galloway was a unanimous 2011 All-BIG EAST First Team honoree. In addition, he was named the league's best goalkeeper for the second straight year. Galloway ranks fifth nationally in goals-against average (6.95) this season. He has 129 saves and owns a .563 save percentage.
Galloway will go down as one of the most successful goaltenders in college lacrosse history. He is the NCAA's career leader in wins (59) and currently ranks second in NCAA history in minutes played (3,653). Galloway's 7.41 career goals-against average is eighth all-time.
Together, White and Galloway anchor a Syracuse defensive unit that ranks fifth nationally in scoring defense (7.2 goals allowed per game).
Since 2001, the Tewaaraton Award has been given to the top men's and women's lacrosse player in the nation, as voted upon by a selection committee made up of current and retired coaches. The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on Thursday, June 2 at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C.
Event details and ticket information can be found at