Rodgers Named NCAA Championship Most Outstanding Player

BALTIMORE, Md. - Notre Dame goalkeeper Scott Rodgers was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2010 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship on May 31. Joining Rodgers on the all-tournament team were teammates midfielder Zach Brenneman and defender Kevin Ridgway.

Rodgers was an instrumental part in Notre Dame reaching the title game of the NCAA Championship for the first time in program history. It was the fifth time that the Most Outstanding Player was awarded to a member of the team that lost in the championship game. The fifth-year senior made 53 saves (13.25 per game) and surrendered just 23 goals (5.75 per game) during the four games of the tournament.

Rodgers and the Notre Dame defense held Duke to its lowest goal total of the season in the 6-5 overtime loss in the title game. The Blue Devils entered the contest averaging 16.3 goals per game during the tournament. Rodgers concluded the 2010 campaign ranked first nationally in save percentage (.605) and third in goals-against average (7.56). The two-time All-America honoree finished his stellar Notre Dame career with a 24-6 record to go along with a 6.77 goals-against average and a .642 save percentage.

Brenneman notched a hat trick in the team's 12-7 semifinal win over Cornell and followed that up with another three-goal effort against Duke in the final. The junior finished the season as Notre Dame's leader in goals (29) and points (42). He also had a team-best six hat tricks this season.

Ridgway was an anchor on the Fighting Irish defense throughout the season and playoffs. The five goals allowed to Princeton and Maryland in the first and second rounds, respectively, were the fewest surrendered by an Irish squad in an NCAA Championship game. Notre Dame finished the season ranked second nationally in goals-against average (7.53).

Notre Dame finished the season with a 10-7 record overall. The Irish finished league play with a record of 2-4 in conference action.

2010 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship All-Tournament Team
Most Outstanding Player
Scott Rodgers - Goalie - Notre Dame

All-Tournament Team
C.J. Costabile - LSM - Duke
Zach Howell - Attack - Duke
Mike Manley - Defender - Duke
Max Quinzani - Attack - Duke
Zach Brenneman - Midfield - Notre Dame
Kevin Ridgway - Defense - Notre Dame
Scott Rodgers - Goalie - Notre Dame
Chris Bocklet - Attack - Virginia
Steele Stanwick - Attack - Virginia
Steve Mock - Attack - Cornell