Postcards From Indy - Day 5

10:00 AM - Well its Game Day here in Indy and following the national championship performance by the UConn men's program last night, expectations are high! Notre Dame squares off against Texas A&M at 8:30 p.m. ET on ESPN. Today's preview story is available here. BIG EAST staffers had a great dinner with a bunch of the league coaches and administrators last night. It is events like that which truly foster the family atmosphere of the BIG EAST. Some fans might be surprised to know that while there is intense competition on the court, many of the league coaches also are friends off of it. We stopped by the Basketball Writers annual awards breakfast this morning had gleaned a few insights from the speakers, including outgoing NCAA WBB Selection Committee chair Marilyn McNeil. ESPN's Carol Stiff formally received the Mel Greenberg Award and had some positive things to say as well. In addition, Memphis guard Bilqis Abdual-Qaadir was honored as the USBWA "Most Courageous" award winner. Other awards handed out last night saw UConn's Maya Moore grab the Naismith Award presented by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. Moore becomes the first two-time College and two-time Naismith High School Player of the Year award winner. Moore edged Nneka Ogwumike (Stanford), Danielle Adams (Texas A&M) and Brittney Griner (Baylor) on the final ballot. She was recognized by Kathy Betty and Mary Brock of the Atlanta Tipoff Club and Kris Rinne of AT&T at the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Awards Banquet at the 2011 Women's Final Four in Indianapolis. Here's an interesting tidbit from our friends at ESPN and former colleague Rachel Margolis. Did You Know: The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is the largest spectator sporting facility in the world, with more than 250,000 permanent seats.