UConn's Maya Moore Wins Honda-Broderick Cup

University of Connecticut women's basketball rising senior Maya Moore has won the 2009-10 Honda-Broderick Cup, given to the collegiate woman athlete of the year. Penn State volleyball star Megan Hodge also won the award marking the second time there were co-winners.

This year's winners were presented with their prestigious awards at a special ceremony in Los Angeles at UCLA's J.D. Morgan Center. Both athletes were selected as winners of the Honda-Broderick Cup by voting among 1,000 NCAA member schools and the Board of Directors of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program. Winners are chosen in each of the 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports; three additional athletes are recognized as the Inspiration Award winners and Division II and III Athletes of the Year. All of these women are selected not only for their superior athletic skills, but also for their leadership abilities, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.

Moore is the fifth BIG EAST student-athlete to win the award and the first since ex-Notre Dame soccer star Cindy Daws captured the award in 1997. Moore also joins former Connecticut women's basketball standouts Jennifer Rizzotti (1996) and Rebecca Lobo (1995) as honorees. Villanova track & field star Vicki Huber won the league's first Broderick Cup in 1989.

This year's tie marks only the second time that two athletes have received the Honda-Broderick Cup in the same year. In 1984, the award went to both swimmer Tracy Caulkins from the University of Florida and basketball player Cheryl Miller from the University of Southern California.

The ceremony in Los Angeles was attended by all ""Top Three"" finalists for the 2010 award, including both Hodge and Moore as well as track & field distance runner Lisa Koll from Iowa State University. Hodge is the first athlete from Penn State to be honored as Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year, while Moore is the third athlete from Connecticut to receive the award.

Moore, a native of Jefferson City, Missouri, grew up in Lawrenceville, Ga. She helped her team achieve an NCAA record of 78-consecutive wins over two seasons, as well as its sixth undefeated season and second straight NCAA National Championship.

Moore ended the season averaging 18.9 points and 8.3 rebounds, and scored in double figures 34 times. She finished the 2009-10 season with 736 points, the second most points scored in a season by a UConn player (the most was 754 pts. in 2008-09, also achieved by Moore). The rising senior has scored 2,168 career points, with 963 rebounds and 243 3-pointers. She is the first junior in the program's history to score over 2,000 points.

She received both the 2010 NCAA Final Four Most Outstanding Player and the Dayton Regional's Most Outstanding Player awards and is a three-time Associated Press First Team All-American. A Sports Marketing and Media major with a 3.85 GPA, Moore was honored this year as the BIG EAST women's basketball Scholar Athlete of the Year, the ESPN the Magazine Academic All-America of the Year, 2010 Wade Trophy winner and a Wooden Award finalist.