Muffet McGraw Named to Women's Basketball Hall of Fame

Notre Dame women's basketball head coach Muffet McGraw was named one of six members of the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame's Class of 2011. As head coach at Notre Dame, McGraw led the Irish to the 2001 NCAA Division I National Championship and was named 2001 Naismith, Associated Press, WBCA and U.S. Basketball Writers Association National Coach of the Year. She was the 2009 Carol Eckman Award Recipient.

In 23 seasons at ND, McGraw has led her teams to two Final Fours, eight Sweet Sixteen appearances and 20 seasons with 20-or-more victories. She was a member of the USA Basketball Women's Collegiate Committee and a past president of the WBCA's Board of Directors.

Compiling an overall record of 613-244 in her 28 years as a head coach (.715 win percentage), McGraw is the winningest coach in school history. She holds a 525-203 record in her 23 years with Notre Dame (.721 win percentage) and has posted a winning record in conference play every year since joining the league in 1995-96. Overall, McGraw has led the Irish to 17 NCAA Championship appearances and three NWIT showings.

The additional members of the Class of 2011 are: Val Ackerman (contributor), Ruthie Bolton (player), Vicky Bullett (player), Pearl Moore (player) and Lometa Odom (player).

The announcement marks the fourth time in the Hall of Fame's 12-year history that the upcoming class of inductees has been announced during a WNBA event in July. Prior to making the announcement during the WNBA season, it had been tradition for the new inductees to be unveiled during the State Farm Tip-Off Classic each year in November. The Class of 2011 will be formally introduced to the world at the 2010 State Farm Tip-Off Classic. Details for the 2010 SFTOC and the 2011 WBHOF Induction will be announced at a later date.

McGraw is the fifth person with BIG EAST ties to be elected into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame joining Geno Auriemma (2006), Anne Donovan (1999) and C. Vivian Stringer (2001). Former UConn player Rebecca Lobo (2010) was inducted last month.