Eleven Former BIG EAST Players Named WNBA All-Stars

NEW YORK, N.Y. -- Eleven former BIG EAST women's basketball players have been selected to play in the 2011 WNBA All-Star Game, including seven picked as starters. The seven starters combined to hold nine of the last 10 BIG EAST Player of the Year honors.

Ex-Connecticut teammates Swin Cash ('02), Sue Bird ('02) and Diana Taurasi (`04) were named starters for the Western Conference All-Stars. Recent UConn graduate and WNBA rookie Maya Moore (`11) also joins them as a starter for the West squad. Moore is the first rookie voted to start in the WNBA All-Star game since Tamika Catchings and Bird in 2002.

Bird, Taurasi and Moore combined to hold six BIG EAST Player of the Year awards.

For the Eastern Conference All-Stars, three former BIG EAST standouts were selected as starters including Rutgers product Cappie Pondexter (`06) and Louisville star Angel McCoughtry (`07). UConn's Tina Charles (`10) also was picked. The trio each garnered BIG EAST Player of the Year accolades during their collegiate careers.

Four former BIG EAST standouts also were named reserves. Rebekkah Brunson (Georgetown `04) headlines the Western Conference team, while Essence Carson (Rutgers `06), Epiphanny Prince (Rutgers `08) and Renee Montgomery (Connecticut `09) represent the Eastern Conference squad.

The 2011 WNBA All-Star Game will be nationally broadcast on ABC, Saturday, July 23 at 3:30 p.m. ET from San Antonio. The game will be played at the AT&T Center.