BIG EAST Announces 2013-14 WBB Schedule

DePaul will host the league tournament in 2014 at Allstate Arena.

DePaul will host the league tournament in 2014 at Allstate Arena.

Sept. 11, 2013

2013-14 Composite Schedule Get Acrobat Reader | Television Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

BIG EAST Conference women’s basketball will feature six of 10 teams that are coming off postseason appearances last year. In 2013-14, the teams will play an 18-game double round-robin conference schedule that will include extensive national television exposure. The schedule was released today.

As part of the BIG EAST’s new partnership with FOX Sports, 13 regular-season games will be televised on Fox Sports 1, which reaches nearly 90 million homes across the nation. FOX also will televise the semifinals and finals of The BIG EAST Championship, which will be held March 10-11 at Allstate Arena in Rosemont, Ill. Two additional games will be televised by CBS Sports Network.

“We look forward to establishing a new tradition of excellence in women’s basketball in the BIG EAST, and the national exposure afforded by our agreement with Fox will play a key role,” said BIG EAST Commissioner Val Ackerman. “We have terrific coaches and student-athletes to showcase, and Fox’s regular season and postseason game coverage will allow us to bring exciting competitions and compelling stories to our fans.”

Last year, DePaul, St. John’s, Villanova and Creighton earned NCAA berths. Marquette and Butler played in the WNIT. Creighton, Butler and Xavier are the BIG EAST’s new members.

Of the 13 FOX Sports 1 telecasts, nine will be league games and four will be non-conference contests. The schedule begins Nov. 17 when Georgetown hosts California. The first league game on FOX Sports 1 will be DePaul at Creighton on Jan. 4.

Eight of the 13 telecasts will be on Sunday. FOX Sports 1 will telecast a pair of late-season doubleheaders. On Feb. 23, Georgetown will play at Villanova at 1 p.m. ET followed by St. John’s at Creighton at 3 p.m. On March 1, the final Saturday of the regular season, DePaul will visit St. John’s at 1 p.m. and Creighton is at Marquette at 3 p.m.