Two WBB Teams Partake In Inaugural `Super Six Series'

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - Six conferences have joined forces to create the `Super Six Series' women's basketball challenge. Pittsburgh and Notre Dame will represent the BIG EAST in the inaugural event, which pits two teams from six conferences against each other in highly anticipated early-season matchups.
The Panthers will face Minnesota on Nov. 17 in a contest in Minneapolis, while the Irish will host UCLA on Nov. 18 at the newly renovated Purcell Pavilion at the Joyce Center.
Last season, Pittsburgh secured a postseason berth in the WNIT with a record of 16-15. It was the fifth straight postseason appearance for the squad, who is under the direction of head coach Agnus Berenato in her eighth year. Berenato has helped guide the Panthers to compete in the NCAA Championship in three of the last four seasons, including a pair of Sweet 16 showings. Senior Chelsea Cole led the league in rebounding last season, averaging 11.3 per game.
Notre Dame was ranked in the top 5 for the majority of the season and finished the year 29-6. The Irish advanced to the NCAA Championship Regional Semifinal in Kansas City, Mo. It was the 15th straight NCAA berth for Notre Dame. Sophomore guard Skylar Diggins returns in 2010-11, along with head coach Muffet McGraw, who is entering her 16th season. McGraw was recently announced as an inductee to the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame as a member of the Class of 2011.
The Series begins in 2010-11 and will continue through the 2011-12 season. Two teams from each conference will participate, resulting in six games played in on-campus venues. Each league will have one home game and one away game annually. Games will be played during the first two weeks of the season each year. The leagues participating are the Atlantic Coast Conference, BIG EAST, Big 12, Big Ten, Southeastern and Pacific-10 Conference.
Complete matchups for the 2010-11 Super Six Series can be found below. Dates and times (Eastern) are subject to change.
2010-11 Super Six Series
November 17
Pittsburgh at Minnesota, 8 p.m. (
November 18
UCLA at Notre Dame, 7 p.m.
Duke at Auburn, 7 p.m.
November 19   
Michigan State at Baylor, 8 p.m.
November 21   
Vanderbilt at Florida State, 2 p.m.
November 22
Nebraska at Washington State, 10 p.m.