BIG EAST Women's Hoops Lands Nine on Naismith Watch List

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - Nine BIG EAST women's basketball players, including 2008-09 winner Maya Moore, were named to the 2010-11 Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List. The nine selections tied the league for the most athletes on the list along with the Atlantic Coast Conference.
The Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors combined the watch list, choosing players based on the previous year's performances and expectations for the up-coming college basketball season. In late February, the board will compile a mid-season team, trimming the list from 50 to 30. The Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow the list down to four finalists. The 2010-11 Naismith Trophy will be awarded at the NCAA Women's Final Four in Indianapolis April 4, 2010.  
Last year the BIG EAST had eight on the list with half making repeat appearances on this year's list. Connecticut senior Maya Moore looks to win her second Naismith Player of the Year trophy and become the first to win two trophies in both high school and college. She won the college award in 2009 and won the Naismith National High School Girl's Player of the Year honor in 2006 and 2007. 
For more information on the Naismith Trophy, including details regarding fan voting, which will account for 25 percent of the final results, visit the award's official website at
2010 BIG EAST Naismith Watch List Members
Danielle Adams, Texas A&M, F/C, Sr.
Kachine Alexander, Iowa, G, Sr.
LaSondra Barrett, LSU, F, Jr.
Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee, G/F, Sr.
Kelsey Bolte, Iowa State, G, Sr.
Jessica Breland, North Carolina, F, Sr.
Kelley Cain, Tennessee, C, Jr.
Cetera DeGraffenreid, North Carolina, G, Sr.
Elena Delle Donne, Delaware, F/G, So.
Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame, G, So.
Jasmine Dixon, UCLA, F, Jr.
VictoriaDunlap, Kentucky, F, Sr.
Dawn Evans, James Madison, G, Sr.
Casey Garrison, Missouri State, G, Jr.
Brittney Griner, Baylor, C, So.
Keisha Hampton, DePaul, F, Jr.
Amber Harris, Xavier, F, Sr.
Tiffany Hayes, Connecticut, G, Jr.
Ify Ibekwe, Arizona, F, Sr.
Amy Jaeschke, Northwestern, C, Sr.
Shenise Johnson, Miami, G, Jr.
Melissa Jones, Baylor, G/F, Sr.
Jantel Lavendar, Ohio State, C, Sr.
Italee Lucas, North Carolina, G, Sr.
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky, G, So.
Sarah Miles, West Virginia, G, Sr.
Alex Montgomery, Georgia Tech, G/F, Sr.
Maya Moore, Connecticut, F, Sr.
Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford, F, Jr.
Kayla Pedersen, Stanford, F, Sr.
Ta'Shia Phillips, Xavier, C, Sr.
Jeanette Pohlen, Stanford, G, Sr.
Samantha Prahalis, Ohio State, G, Jr.
Lauren Prochaska, Bowling Green, G, Jr.
Chastity Reed, Arkansas-Little Rock, F, Sr.
Monique Reid, Louisville, F, Jr.
Jence Rhoads, Vanderbilt, G, Sr.
Danielle Robinson, Oklahoma, G, Sr.
Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown, G, So.
Shenneika Smith, St. John's, G, So.
Brittany Spears, Colorado, F, Sr.
Da'Shena Stevens, St. John's, F, Jr.
Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee, G/F, Jr.
Helena Sverrisdottir, TCU, G/F, Sr.
Carolyn Swords, Boston College, C, Sr.
Louella Tomlinson, St. Mary's, C/F, Sr.
Jasmine Thomas, Duke, G, Sr.
Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga, G, Sr.
Courtney Ward, Florida State, G, Sr.
Riquna Williams, Miami, G, Jr.