Syracuse Wins 2010 BIG EAST Field Hockey Championship 1-0 Over Connecticut

Box Score
Championship Central

, Conn. - No. 1 seed Syracuse won the 2010 BIG EAST Field Hockey Championship, shutting out No. 3 seed Connecticut 1-0 today at the George J. Sherman Family-Sports Complex on the University of Connecticut campus. This is the Orange's fifth championship title.
The Orange recorded the lone goal of the contest early, scoring during the 31st minute as junior midfielder Martina Loncarica sent a long ball into the circle from midfield to senior forward Lindsey Conrad. Conrad beat the Connecticut keeper to net her eighth goal of the season, while the assist was Loncarica's seventh.
Syracuse outshot the Huskies 14-2 and won the penalty corners contest 6-1. SU sophomore keeper Leann Stiver snagged one save, while Connecticut freshman and BIG EAST Goalkeeper of the Year Sarah Mansfield recorded two saves for complete game efforts by both.
The 2010 BIG EAST All-Tournament Team was announced immediately following in the title-game. No. 4 seed Rutgers and No. 2 seed Louisville were represented with RU freshman back Laura Rose and UofL senior midfielder/forward Tuli Lim. Runner-up Connecticut had three tournament team selections, while champion Syracuse had six picks.
Conrad was named the 2010 BIG EAST Championship Most Outstanding Player. The senior registered one assist and recorded two goals during the tournament, including the championship gamewinner. Conrad scored three gamewinners this season.
As winners of the BIG EAST Championship, the Orange receives the league's automatic bid to the 30th annual NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship with first round competition beginning Nov. 13 and 14 on campus sites. Connecticut and Louisville will wait for the NCAA committee selection before continuing their seasons.
2010 BIG EAST All-Tournament Team
Laura Rose, Rutgers, B
Tuli Lim, Louisville, M/F
Lindsey Conrad, Syracuse, F
Laura Hahnefeldt, Syracuse, B
Melissa Gonzalez, Connecticut, M
Amy Kee, Syracuse, B
Heather Susek, Syracuse, F
Cara Silverman, Connecticut, F/M
Martina Loncarica, Syracuse, M
Ali Blankmeyer, Connecticut, F/M
Leann Stiver, Syracuse, GK