Two Field Hockey Teams Make NCAA Championship

NCAA Bracket

, R.I. - The 2010 season continues for two BIG EAST field hockey teams as Syracuse and Connecticut will participate in the 2010 NCAA Championship with opening round play starting Nov. 13.
2010 BIG EAST Champion Syracuse (15-4) will travel to Penn State (14-5) Nov. 13 for an 11:30 a.m. contest. The Orange defeated Rutgers 4-1 in the semifinals of the BIG EAST Championship and shutout Connecticut 1-0 in the championship final to claim its fifth tournament crown. SU clinched the 2010 BIG EAST Regular Season Championship, going 6-0 in league play. This marked the third consecutive regular season title for the Orange. Syracuse also knocked off a conference-best seven ranked opponents this year.  
Connecticut (15-5) will take on American (17-3) at Maryland Nov. 13 for a 2:00 p.m. game. UConn was the 2010 BIG EAST Championship runner-up after beating Louisville 2-1 in the semifinal round and falling 1-0 to Syracuse in the final. The Huskies lead the BIG EAST with eight shutouts and a 0.82 team GAA. They are second in the nation in GAA and third in shutouts per game with 0.44.   
In 2009, Connecticut earned the BIG EAST's automatic bid to the NCAA Championship and was eliminated in the first round of play. The Huskies fell 3-2 to Drexel. Syracuse received an at-large bid, advancing to the quarterfinals. The Orange lost 7-3 to Princeton. 
The first two rounds of the NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship are held on the campuses of participating institutions in a single-elimination format. The semifinal and final rounds of the NCCA tournament will be hosted by the University of Maryland in College Park, Md. Nov. 19 and 21.