BIG EAST CONFERENCE ANNOUNCES SPRING TELEVISION SCHEDULE

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The BIG EAST Conference has announced its national and local television schedule for the 2011 spring sports season.
 
The schedule includes a combined 46 games that will be televised this spring, including national television coverage of the BIG EAST baseball, softball and women's lacrosse championships. Twenty-five games will be carried on national television, either on the ESPN family of networks or on CBS College Sports.
 
BASEBALL
Seven regular-season dates and the final game of the 2011 BIG EAST Championship will be televised this season. The national television slate begins April 15 in Notre Dame, Ind., as West Virginia and Notre Dame begin their BIG EAST series with a 7 p.m. game on ESPNU. All three games of the regular-season-ending series between Notre Dame and Louisville will be televised as Wazoo Sports carries the May 19 opener locally in Kentucky before CBS College Sports picks up Games 2 and 3, which are slated for May 20 and 21. Wazoo Sports will carry three other Louisville home games, including a nonconference game against Kentucky April 12, a BIG EAST game against USF April 21, and a date with Vanderbilt May 10 in a rematch of last year's NCAA Regional final. ESPNU will once again air the title game of the BIG EAST Championship live from Clearwater, Fla., May 29.
 
MEN'S LACROSSE
The ESPN family of networks will have 13 games involving BIG EAST teams in 2011, while 10 other games will air locally, either in New Jersey or upstate New York. Some highlights of the national schedule are: a rematch of last year's NCAA Championship final as Notre Dame hosts Duke on ESPN Feb. 20; Syracuse meeting Georgetown March 12 in the Konica Minolta Face-Off Classic in Baltimore; and Rutgers facing Syracuse in the ESPNU Warrior Classic in East Hartford, Conn., April 23 on ESPNU. The ESPN platforms will have coverage of both games of the Konica Minolta Big City Classic at New Meadowlands Stadium as Rutgers meets St. John's on ESPN3.com and Syracuse faces Duke on ESPNU. In addition to the nationally televised games on the ESPN family, 10 games are slotted for local broadcasts, including Rutgers' home games against Army, Notre Dame and Princeton and a St. John's home date against Hofstra. Each of those games will be carried locally by FiOS1. Time Warner, which serves upstate New York, will carry six Syracuse home games, including the May 7 BIG EAST game against St. John's.
 
WOMEN'S LACROSSE
A record six BIG EAST games will be carried on CBS College Sports, including three regular-season dates and all three games of the 2011 BIG EAST Championship. In addition, seven Rutgers home games will be carried locally by FiOS1. The national regular-season broadcasts have Notre Dame at Syracuse April 10 in a rematch of last year's four-overtime thriller from the BIG EAST Championship semifinals; Syracuse at Georgetown April 16 in a rematch of last year's BIG EAST Championship final; and Georgetown at Notre Dame April 23. CBS College Sports will have both semifinal games of the 2011 BIG EAST Championship May 5 as well as the title game May 7.
 
SOFTBALL
Two dates are scheduled for national television, with ESPNU carrying the BIG EAST doubleheader between Pittsburgh and Notre Dame from Notre Dame, Ind., May 4. In addition, the final game of the 2011 BIG EAST Championship will be seen live on ESPN2 May 14.
 
 
2011 BIG EAST Television Schedule
 
 
 
All times Eastern
 
 
 
BASEBALL
 
 
 
Tuesday, April 12
Kentucky at Louisville
6 p.m.
Wazoo Sports
Friday, April 15
West Virginia at Notre Dame
7 p.m.
ESPNU
Thursday, April 21
USF at Louisville
6 p.m.
Wazoo Sports
Tuesday, May 10
Vanderbilt at Louisville
6 p.m.
Wazoo Sports
Thursday, May 19
Notre Dame at Louisville
6 p.m.
Wazoo Sports
Friday, May 20
Notre Dame at Louisville
7 p.m.
CBS College Sports
Saturday, May 21
Notre Dame at Louisville
1 p.m.
CBS College Sports
Sunday, May 29
BIG EAST Championship Final
Noon
ESPNU
 
 
 
 
MEN'S LACROSSE
 
 
 
Sunday, Feb. 20
Georgetown at Jacksonville
Noon
ESPNU
 
Denver at Syracuse
1 p.m.
Time Warner
 
Duke at Notre Dame
3 p.m.
ESPN
Saturday, Feb. 26
Georgetown at Maryland
1 p.m.
ESPNU
Sunday, Feb. 27
Army at Syracuse
4 p.m.
Time Warner
Friday, March 4
Virginia at Syracuse
6 p.m.
ESPNU
Saturday, March 12
Syracuse vs. Georgetown +
11 a.m.
ESPNU
Tuesday, March 15
Albany at Syracuse
7 p.m.
Time Warner
Saturday, March 19
Johns Hopkins at Syracuse
6 p.m.
ESPNU
 
Army at Rutgers
1 p.m.
FiOS1
Thursday, March 24
Hofstra at St. John's
7 p.m.
FiOS1
Sunday, March 27
Notre Dame at Rutgers
Noon
FiOS1
Sunday, April 3
Rutgers vs. St. John's *
1 p.m.
ESPN3.com
 
Duke vs. Syracuse *
6:30 p.m.
ESPNU
Saturday, April 9
Syracuse at Princeton
4 p.m.
ESPNU
Sunday, April 10
Georgetown at Notre Dame
Noon
ESPNU
Tuesday, April 12
Princeton at Rutgers
7 p.m.
FiOS1
 
Cornell at Syracuse
7 p.m.
Time Warner
Tuesday, April 19
Hobart at Syracuse
7 p.m.
Time Warner
Saturday, April 23
Rutgers at Syracuse ^
5:30 p.m.
ESPNU
Saturday, April 30
Notre Dame at Syracuse
7 p.m.
ESPNU
Friday, May 6
Notre Dame at North Carolina
8 p.m.
ESPNU
Saturday, May 7
St. John's at Syracuse
1 p.m.
Time Warner
 
 
 
 
+ Konica Minolta Face-Off Classic, M&T Bank Stadium, Baltimore, Md.
* Konica Minolta Big City Classic, New Meadowlands Stadium, East Rutherford, N.J.
^ ESPNU Warrior Classic, Rentschler Field, East Hartford, Conn.
 
 
 
 
WOMEN'S LACROSSE
 
 
 
Saturday, March 12
Hofstra at Rutgers
1 p.m
FiOS1
Wednesday, March 16
Penn at Rutgers
6 p.m.
FiOS1
Saturday, March 26
Syracuse at Rutgers
1 p.m.
FiOS1
Sunday, April 10
Notre Dame at Syracuse
1 p.m.
CBS College Sports
Saturday, April 16
Syracuse at Georgetown
Noon
CBS College Sports
Saturday, April 23
Georgetown at Notre Dame
1 p.m.
CBS College Sports
 
Loyola at Rutgers
1 p.m.
FiOS1
Tuesday, April 26
Villanova at Rutgers
7 p.m.
FiOS1
Sunday, May 1
Georgetown at Rutgers
1 p.m.
FiOS1
Saturday, May 7
Providence at Rutgers
7 p.m.
FiOS1
Thursday, May 5
BIG EAST Championship Semifinals
5:30/8:15 p.m.
CBS College Sports
Saturday, May 7
BIG EAST Championship Final
1 p.m.
CBS College Sports
 
 
 
 
SOFTBALL