Five WLax Players Nominated For Tewaaraton Award

WASHINGTON, D.C. (Apr. 25, 2012) - Five BIG EAST women's lacrosse players are among the 25 nominees for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award. Syracuse led the league with two selections as Alyssa Murray and Michelle Tumolo were each picked. Loyola's Marlee Paton, Georgetown's Sophia Thomas and Notre Dame's Maggie Tamasitis also were honored.
The women's award nominees include players from 17 different schools, including 2011 winner Shannon Smith (Northwestern).
Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced on May 10 and invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony. The original men's and women's watch lists, were announced Feb. 15 with additions made March 20 and April 3 and were ultimately comprised of 82 men's players and 57 women's players.
"We congratulate these 50 elite student-athletes on their remarkable accomplishments thus far this season," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "With the help of our selection committees, we look forward to announcing this year's finalists next month." The selection committees are comprised of 12 men's and ten women's current and former coaches.