Women's Lacrosse Championship Field Set

- Syracuse has earned the No. 1 seed for the 2012 BIG EAST women's lacrosse championship and will host the tournament beginning Thursday, May 3. The Orange will host No. 4 seed Georgetown at approximately 8:15 p.m. ET at the Carrier Dome.
Earlier in the evening, No. 2 seed Loyola will take on No. 3 seed Notre Dame at 5:30 p.m.
Both games will be televised on the CBS Sports Network. The semifinal winners will meet on Saturday, May 5 at 1 p.m. ET in a game also shown on the CBS Sports Network.
No. 1 seed Syracuse (14-2, 7-0 BIG EAST) has clinched at least a share of the league's regular-season crown for the second straight year and fifth time overall. The Orange held off Loyola 13-12 on Friday night to earn the top seed in the Conference tournament. Syracuse is riding a school-record 13-game winning streak and is ranked No. 2/2 in the national polls (IWLCA/Inside Lacrosse).
Loyola (10-5, 6-1 BIG EAST) will be the No. 2 seed and could still clinch a share of the regular-season crown following a win at Connecticut on Sunday and a Syracuse loss to Villanova. Regardless, the Greyhounds will be the No. 2 seed following their 13-12 defeat at Syracuse on Apr. 27. Loyola is the defending tournament champion and will face Notre Dame in the semifinals on May 3. Earlier this year, the Greyhounds knocked off the Irish 17-11 on Apr. 1.
No. 3 seed Notre Dame (13-3, 6-2 BIG EAST) is ranked No. 6/6 in the national polls and under the direction of first-year head coach Christine Halfpenny. The Irish began the year 8-0, their best start to a season since 2004 and the second-best start in program history. Notre Dame has knocked off five ranked teams this season and is looking to avenge its loss to Loyola earlier this season.
No. 4 seed Georgetown (9-7, 5-3 BIG EAST) enters the tournament following a 9-7 win over Rutgers on Saturday afternoon to clinch the final berth. The Hoyas have faced one of the toughest schedules in the country playing eight ranked opponents this season. The Hoyas and Orange met earlier this year on Apr. 14. Syracuse beat Georgetown 22-11.
Syracuse, Georgetown and Notre Dame have qualified for all six BIG EAST Tournaments since 2007.
The BIG EAST Championship began in 2007 and was won by Syracuse. The Orange also won in 2008, while Notre Dame was victorious in 2009. Georgetown won the 2010 tournament and Loyola captured the tournament in 2011.