Women's Lacrosse Championship Field Announced


Bracket in PDF

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The 2013 BIG EAST women's lacrosse championship field is set and the four seeds are confirmed as Syracuse earned the No. 1 spot. Georgetown is the No. 2 seed, Loyola is the No. 3 seed and Connecticut is the No. 4 seed. The Orange went undefeated in league play at 8-0 and finished the regular-season with an impressive 14-3 record.


Syracuse claimed the BIG EAST regular-season title for the second consecutive season. The Orange went unbeaten in conference play for the second straight year and third time in the program's history. The Orange also extended their BIG EAST regular-season winning streak to 20 games, dating back to the 2011 season. Syracuse is looking for its first tournament title since 2008.


Georgetown (12-4, 6-2 BIG EAST) is the No. 2 seed in the Championship after finishing the year tied with Loyola in the standings at 6-2 in BIG EAST play. The Hoyas won at Loyola 14-11 on April 6 before more than 2,000 fans giving Georgetown a head-to-head tie breaker. Georgetown will host the tournament as a predetermined site picked earlier in the year.


Loyola (10-7, 6-2 BIG EAST) has won five of its last six games and will make its fourth straight appearance in the tournament. Loyola has won the last two BIG EAST Championship tournament titles. The Greyhounds are the No. 3 seed. Loyola won the tourney title in 2011 as the No. 3 seed.


Connecticut (13-3, 5-3 BIG EAST) will make its first appearance in the seven-year history of the championship and is in the midst of its best season ever. UConn went 7-0 at home this year and will be the No. 4 seed.


The 2013 BIG EAST Championship will take place May 2 & 4 at Georgetown University. UConn and Syracuse will square off on May 2 at 5:30 p.m. ET. Loyola and Georgetown will meet later in the evening, at approximately 8:15 p.m. ET. Both semifinal games will be streamed live online at www.bigeast.tv The title game is set for 1 p.m. ET on May 4 on the CBS Sports Network.



2013 BIG EAST Women's Lacrosse Championship

Hosted by Georgetown University in Washington, D.C.


Semifinals, May 2 - streamed live on www.bigeast.tv

#4 seed Connecticut vs. #1 seed Syracuse          5:30 p.m. ET

#3 seed Loyola vs. #2 seed Georgetown             45 minutes after the conclusion of first semifinal


Title Game, May 4 - CBS Sports Network

1 p.m. ET