UofL Duo Named Tewaaraton Award Nominees

Nikki Boltja

Nikki Boltja

April 29, 2014

NEW YORK - University of Louisville's Nikki Boltja and Kaylin Morissette, statistically two of the best women's lacrosse players in the country, were named 2014 Tewaaraton Award nominees late Friday evening.

The Tewaarraton Trophy is awarded annually to the “Most Outstanding” female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse players in the United States.

Louisville is one of just eight schools with a pair of nominees on the list, only trailing Maryland's four selections.

Behind the solid play of the duo, No. 18 Louisville collected its first BIG EAST regular-season title outright on Thursday in addition to securing the No. 1 seed in the conference tournament next weekend. Louisville finished the regular season with a school-best 13-3 mark, including the only undefeated record in the league at 7-0.

Boltja has dominated opposing defenses, leading Louisville in goals (61), assists (20), and points (81). The senior ranks first in the BIG EAST in goals, goals per game, points, and points per game, while ranking No. 2 nationally in goals and goals per game, fourth in points, and fifth in points per game for games through April 20.

A sophomore, Morissette has been one of the most effective in the country on the draw. She currently has a single season school record 142 draw controls on the year, good enough for second best in the country. The Bowmanville, Ontario, native has totaled 44 points behind 33 goals and 11 assists in addition to 25 ground balls and 11 caused turnovers.

The Cardinals return to action on May 1 in the BIG EAST Tournament semifinals in Washington, D.C. The championship game on May 3 will be televised on FOXSports 2.