BIG EAST Women's Lacrosse Semifinals Set For Georgetown

Kacey Pippitt, Connecticut

Kacey Pippitt, Connecticut

May 1, 2014

BIG EAST WLAX Notes - 5.1.14 Get Acrobat Reader

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The eighth annual BIG EAST Women’s Lacrosse Championship will kick off on Thursday, May 1, in Washington, D.C., at Georgetown’s Multi-Sport Complex. The league’s women’s lacrosse tournament champion will be crowned on the Hoyas’ home field for the second consecutive year and fourth time overall. Top-seeded Louisville and fourth-seeded Rutgers will tangle at 5:30 p.m., followed by the host and No. 2 seed Georgetown and No. 3 seed Connecticut at approximately 8:15 p.m.

Both games can be streamed live, free of charge, on Ryan Sakamoto will handle play-by-play duties while Monika Moore will provide commentary.

The Cardinals, ranked 17th in both major women’s lacrosse polls, enter the tournament on a nine-game winning streak and will look to become the fifth different team to hoist the BIG EAST Championship trophy. The Hoyas, who are receiving votes in both major polls, will look to claim their second league crown and first since 2010, while also look to become just the second BIG EAST team to earn the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament on their home field.

Louisville dispatched Rutgers 18-6 in the regular-season meeting on April 19, while Georgetown snuck by Connecticut, 11-10, on April 11 in Storrs, Conn.

The Hoyas are making their league-leading eighth consecutive appearance in the BIG EAST Championship and are 6-6 all-time in league tournament games. GU handed Louisville a loss in the Cardinals’ lone conference postseason appearance, 21-12 in the 2009 semifinals played in Washington, D.C. Rutgers is 0-2 all-time in the BIG EAST Championship, dropping back-to-back Semifinal contests in 2007 and 2008. Connecticut is making its tournament debut.

The previous 14 semifinal tilts have been decided by an average of 4.6 goals per game, with two of those contests going into overtime, including a four-overtime decision in 2010 and a three-overtime game in 2008.

Winners of Thursday’s BIG EAST Championship Semifinals will square off on Saturday at 2:30 p.m., with the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Championship on the line. The BIG EAST Final will be aired live on FOX Sports 2.