Women's Lacrosse Championship Begins Thursday


Watch Live on www.bigeast.tv

UConn-Syracuse Game

Loyola-Georgetown Game


PROVIDENCE, R.I. - The 2013 BIG EAST women's lacrosse championship begins Thursday evening with the winner earning the league's automatic berth to the NCAA Championship. Syracuse earned the No. 1 seed and will take on No. 4 seed Connecticut at 5:30 p.m. ET. Georgetown is the No. 2 seed and will host No. 3 seed Loyola at approximately 7:45 p.m. ET.


Syracuse (14-3, 8-0 BIG EAST) went undefeated in league play and claimed the BIG EAST regular-season title for the second consecutive season. It is the sixth regular-season crown in program's history. The Orange also extended their BIG EAST regular-season winning streak to 20 games, dating back to the 2011 season. On Wednesday evening, junior Alyssa Murray was named the BIG EAST Attack Player of the Year, while senior teammate Becca Block was tabbed the BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year. Syracuse is looking for its first tournament title since 2008.


Connecticut (13-3, 5-3 BIG EAST) will make its first appearance in the seven-year history of the championship and is in the midst of its best season ever. UConn went 7-0 at home this year and will be the No. 4 seed. Led by 2013 BIG EAST Coach of the Year Katie Woods, the Huskies feature junior Lauren Kahn, who was named the BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year. Kahn leads the team with 58 points, including 36 goals.


Earlier this season Syracuse beat Connecticut 18-7 on March 22 in Syracuse, N.Y. The Orange lead the all-time series 16-0.


The second semifinal will feature Georgetown and Loyola. The teams finished the year tied in the standings at 6-2 in BIG EAST play. Georgetown (12-4, 6-2 BIG EAST) won at Loyola 14-11 on April 6 before more than 2,000 fans giving Georgetown a head-to-head tie breaker. The Hoyas hold a lead in the all-time series 8-6 and have won four of the last five meetings.


Georgetown will host the tournament as a predetermined site picked earlier in the year. The Hoyas have appeared in the tournament for all seven years of its existence.


Loyola (10-7, 6-2 BIG EAST) has won five of its last six games and will make its fourth straight appearance in the tournament. Loyola has won the last two BIG EAST Championship tournament titles. The Greyhounds are the No. 3 seed. Loyola won the tourney title in 2011 as the No. 3 seed.


The 2013 BIG EAST Championship will take place May 2 & 4 at Georgetown University. UConn and Syracuse will square off on May 2 at 5:30 p.m. ET. Loyola and Georgetown will meet later in the evening, at approximately 8:15 p.m. ET. The title game is set for 1 p.m. ET on May 4 on the CBS Sports Network.



2013 BIG EAST Women's Lacrosse Championship

Hosted by Georgetown University in Washington, D.C.


Semifinals, May 2 - streamed live on www.bigeast.tv

#4 seed Connecticut vs. #1 seed Syracuse          5:30 p.m. ET

#3 seed Loyola vs. #2 seed Georgetown             45 minutes after the conclusion of first semifinal


Title Game, May 4 - CBS Sports Network

1 p.m. ET