A League Record Five Teams Selected for NCAA WLax Championship



NCAA Championship Bracket

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - A league-record five BIG EAST women's lacrosse teams were selected for the NCAA Championship on Sunday evening. Syracuse earned the league's automatic berth, while Georgetown, Loyola, Notre Dame and Connecticut were at-large selections.


No. 4 seed Syracuse (16-3), the league's regular-season and tournament champion, was one of two BIG EAST teams to earn a bye to the Second Round. The No. 4 seed matched the highest spot in school history. The Orange will host either Boston College or Dartmouth on May 12 at 3 p.m. ET. SU won at Boston College 17-12 on March 27 and topped Dartmouth 15-5 in the First Round of the NCAA Championship last season.


Syracuse is making its 11th appearance in the NCAA Championship and advanced to the title game last season for the first time in school history. Junior Alyssa Murray was named the BIG EAST Attack Player of the Year, while senior teammate Becca Block was tabbed the BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year.


Georgetown (13-5) also earned a bye to the Second Round and will host either Penn or Virginia on May 12 at 1 p.m. ET. The Hoyas are making their first appearance in the NCAA Championship since 2010 and their 13th bid overall. Georgetown advanced to the title game of the BIG EAST Championship and was the No. 2 seed in that league tournament.


Loyola (10-8) earned an at-large selection in the NCAA Championship and will face High Point on May 10 at 5 p.m. ET, in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. The Greyhounds make their third straight appearance in the NCAA Championship and their 15th appearance overall. The High Point Panthers won the Big South Tournament with a 9-7 win over Davidson on April 28 to earn their first NCAA berth.


Notre Dame (12-4) earned an at-large selection after not even qualifying for the BIG EAST Championship. The Irish will face Stanford on May 10 at 8 p.m. ET, in Evanston, Ill. Earlier this season the Irish beat Stanford 12-10 in their season-opener on Feb. 16 in California. Notre Dame makes its second straight trip to the NCAA Championship and eighth appearance overall.


Connecticut (13-4) earned an at-large selection is making its first appearance in the NCAA Championship. The Huskies are in the midst of their best season in school history. UConn went 7-0 at home this year and will face Massachusetts on May 10 in State College, Pa. The Minutewomen are coached by Angela McMahon who spent two years with the Huskies (2009-2010). UConn junior Lauren Kahn was named the BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year, while bench boss Katie Woods was named the BIG EAST Coach of the Year.


The five league teams selected for the NCAA Championship is easily the best in BIG EAST history. The league had previously sent three teams in 2012, 2010, 2009, 2008 and 2002.


The 2013 NCAA Championship is the first with 26 teams as 13 conference champions received automatic berths and 13 others receive at-large spots.


First- and second-round games of the championship will be held at the campus sites of each of the eight seeded teams on May 10 and 12. Quarterfinals competition will be held at campus sites on either May 18 or May 19.


The 2013 NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship will be held at historic Villanova Stadium in Villanova, Pa. for the first time in championship history. Quarterfinal winners will compete in the national semifinals held May 24, with games at 5 and 7:30 p.m. ET and carried live on ESPN3. The winners will advance to the national championship game, May 26 at 8 p.m. ET, with the game carried live on ESPNU.