Syracuse WLax Set For NCAA Title Game Sunday Evening

The No. 4/4 Syracuse women's lacrosse team (19-3) will take on No. 2/2 Northwestern (20-2) in the title game of the NCAA Championship on Sunday night. The game, which will be played at Stony Brook, N.Y., begins at 8 p.m. ET and will be televised on ESPNU.

The Orange advanced to Sunday's title tilt following a thrilling rally on Friday night against Florida. Syracuse completed the second-largest comeback in NCAA Division I tournament history, recovering from a seven-goal deficit and recording a 14-13 double-overtime victory. In the 2007 semifinals, Duke gave up a nine-goal lead in a loss against Virginia.

SU started its rally when it trailed 12-5 with 17:15 left in regulation. Senior Sarah Holden capped the comeback when she scored on a free position with 30 seconds remaining in regulation to tie it at 13-13 and force overtime. She recorded the gamewinner 58-seconds into the second overtime.

It marked the first time SU beat the No. 1 team in the country in 16 tries. Syracuse also set a single-season record with its 19th win of the year. The Orange have advanced to the Final Four three times in the past five years (2008, 2010 and 2012) and is making its first trip to the title game of the NCAA Championship.

Syracuse beat Dartmouth 15-5 in the first round of the NCAA Championship, then topped North Carolina 17-16 in the quarterfinals.

ORANGE AND NORTHWESTERN FACE OFF AGAIN - Syracuse and Northwestern will meet for the 11th time on Sunday. Northwestern holds a 9-1 edge in the all-time series, including an 11-9 overtime victory earlier this year. The only SU win came on May 3, 2003 in the first matchup between the programs.

QUARTERFINAL SUCCESS - Once again the BIG EAST was well-represented in the quarterfinals of the NCAA Championship. The Conference began sponsoring women's lacrosse in 2001 and has seen a team advance to the NCAA quarterfinals each year.

TITLE TIME - In its 12 years of existence, the BIG EAST has seen seven teams advance to the semifinals of the NCAA Championship. Prior to 2012, the last time a BIG EAST team played for the women's lacrosse national title was in 2002 (Georgetown). The BIG EAST has captured 32 national championships and is looking for its first in women's lacrosse.