Nine Women's Lacrosse Players Earn IWLCA All-America Honors

PROVIDENCE, R.I. - Nine BIG EAST women's lacrosse standouts were honored as the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) cited 51 Division I student-athletes with a selection to the 2011 All-America teams. Three league players earned First Team accolades, including BIG EAST Attack Player of the Year and senior Grace Gavin from Loyola. Notre Dame senior Jackie Doherty and Georgetown senior and BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year Logan McCraw also earned First Team honors.
Overall, the BIG EAST has had 91 student-athletes earn IWLCA All-America honors, including 32 First Team selections.
The IWLCA will honor the National All-Americans at the IWLCA All-American banquet on June 11, 2011 at the Crowne Plaza Valley Forge in King of Prussia, Pa.
First Team
Allyson Carey, Jr., Vanderbilt, Midfield
Kitty Cullen, So., Florida, Attack
Brittany Dipper, Jr., Maryland, Goalkeeper
Jackie Doherty, Sr., Notre Dame, Defense
Corey Donohoe, Sr., North Carolina, Attack
Leslie Foard, Sr., Stanford, Midfield
Grace Gavin, Sr., Loyola, Attack
Emma Hamm, Jr., Duke, Attack
Mia Hurrin, Sr., North Carolina, Defense
Kristin Igoe, Sr., Boston College, Midfield
Christie Kaestner, Sr., Duke, Attack
Logan McCraw, Sr., Georgetown, Defense
Laura Merrifield, Sr., Maryland, Midfield
Sarah Mollison, Sr., Maryland, Attack
Katie Schwarzmann, So., Maryland, Midfield
Shannon Smith, Jr., Northwestern, Attack
Taylor Thorton, So., Northwestern, Defense
Second Team
Shaylyn Blaney, Sr., Notre Dame, Midfield
Nikki Branchini, Sr., Albany, Defense
Erin Brennan, Jr., Pennsylvania, Attack
Kat Collins, Sr., Dartmouth, Attack
Liz Downs, Sr., Virginia, Defense
Lizzie Drumm, Sr., Princeton, Midfield
Taylor Frink, Sr., Albany, Attack
Katie Gallagher, Sr., Maryland, Defense
Kristen Giovanniello, Fr., Dartmouth, Goalkeeper
Grace Golden, Sr., William & Mary, Midfield
Becky Lynch, Jr., North Carolina, Attack
Shannie MacKenzie, Sr., Dartmouth, Defense
Alayna Markwordt, Jr., Ohio State, Attack
Abby Rehfuss, Sr., Loyola, Midfield
Kat Thomas, Jr., Duke, Midfield
Kim Wenger, Jr., Duke, Midfield
Brittney Zerhusen, Sr., Ohio State, Attack
Third Team
Casey Ancarrow, So., James Madison, Attack
Ashley Bruns, So., Florida, Attack
Lindsey deButts, Jr., Princeton, Defense
Lauren Dykstra, Sr., Lehigh, Midfield
Bergan Foley, Sr., Louisville, Attack
Alex Frank, Jr., Northwestern, Midfield
Julie Gardner, Jr., Virginia, Attack
Ana Heneberry, Jr., Loyola, Defense
Sarah Jonson, Sr., William & Mary, Defense
Jackie Lyons, Sr., Massachusetts, Attack
Colleen Magarity, Sr., Northwestern, Defense
Lauren Schmidt, Sr., Stanford, Midfield
Maggie Tamasitis, Jr., Notre Dame, Attack
Sophia Thomas, So., Georgetown, Midfield
Erin Tochihara, Sr., Princeton, Goalkeeper
Brittany Wilton, Jr., Boston College, Attack
Laura Zimmerman, Jr., North Carolina, Midfield