West Virginia Captures Third Women's Soccer Crown


MORGANTOWN, W.Va. - West Virginia (17-4-0) beat Louisville (12-6-3) by the score of 2-0 in the title game of the BIG EAST women's soccer championship on Sunday afternoon. With the win, the Mountaineers captured their second consecutive tournament title and third overall. The Mountaineers also earned the league's automatic berth into the 64-team Division I NCAA Championship.

"Special teams do special things, and it takes a special team to win back-to-back championships in this league," said WVU head coach Nikki Izzo-Brown. "You'll never be disappointed by the hard work these women put on the field."

Senior Blake Miller knocked home a penalty kick 27:13 into the contest to open the scoring. Miller buried it into the lower left corner, kissing it off the left post. Miller has scored in four of the last five games, and recorded a point in eight straight. The Mountaineers also improved to 27-2-1 when Miller scores a goal.

In the 49th minute, sophomore Frances Silva punched in a beautiful cross from junior Bry McCarthy. It was her eighth goal of the year and gave the Mountaineers a 2-0 advantage.

WVU freshman goalkeeper Sara Keane was excellent in net making five saves to preserve the shutout.

The match took place before a sun-baked capacity crowd of more than 1,550 at Dick Dlesk Soccer Stadium. The Mountaineers also won their sixth straight BIG EAST Championship match. Their last loss in the league tournament came in semifinals of the 2009 Championship.

"If we're winning three (championship titles) in five years, that's pretty damn good," reiterated Izzo-Brown.

Louisville goalkeeper Chloe Kiefer made one save. Offensively, sophomore Christine Exeter was held to just one shot.

Louisville now awaits the selections for the 2011 NCAA Championship, which will be announced on Monday, Nov. 7 at 4:30 p.m. The show will be streamed live on NCAA.com or by clicking this link.

All-Tournament Team

Ingrid Wells, Georgetown

Melissa Henderson, Notre Dame

Christine Exeter, Louisville

Chelsea Hunter, Louisville

Jennifer Jones, Louisville

Katie McDonald, Louisville

Sara Keane, West Virginia

Bry McCarthy, West Virginia

Blake Miller, West Virginia

Kate Schwindel, West Virginia

Frances Silva, West Virginia

Most Outstanding Offensive Player

Blake Miller, West Virginia

Most Outstanding Defensive Player

Bry McCarthy, West Virginia