Roeders Named NSCAA/Mondo Northeast Region Coach of the Year

Marquette women's soccer head coach Markus Roeders picked up his second coach of the year honor of 2010 as he was named the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA)/Mondo Northeast Region Coach of the Year. The region coach of the year honor is Roeders' third of his career.

"Our team is very honored. This recognition isn't about one person but a collective group of people working very hard to be successful over a long period of time. Franky, Hideki and Aleks played major roles as much as all the folks at Marquette and in our administration," said Roeders. "First and foremost, we congratulate our players for striving to be their best every day and the reward that came with it. We had an outstanding season and it was a lot of fun.  Many thanks to all who have been involved on and off the field, as well as our many fans."

Roeders, in his 15th season at the helm of the Golden Eagles, led his squad to another banner season in 2010 as it repeated as BIG EAST Conference American Division Champions and advanced to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament for the second time in program history.

After starting the season 3-3-2, the Golden Eagles won a program-record 12 straight games while going unbeaten and untied in BIG EAST Conference play for the first time in program history en route to their second regular season title. Marquette is just the third program in BIG EAST Conference history to go unbeaten and untied in conference play.

Marquette earned its third straight berth in the NCAA Championship, ninth overall, and earned a program-best number three seed. The Golden Eagles defeated Central Michigan 1-0 in the first round of the NCAA Championship before topping Wisconsin, 5-4, in penalty kicks in the second round.

The NSCAA/Mondo Northeast Region Coach of the Year marks the second coach of the year honor of the season for Roeders who was also named the BIG EAST Coach of the Year for the third time of his career. Roeders earned NSCAA Region Coach of the Year honors following the 2000 and 2005 seasons.